Two words: Spaghetti. Tacos.

Mondays. The worst day to spend 1/7 of your life. Actually, Mondays are ok-ish. It’s Tuesdays that kill me. The weekend has a wonderful way of making me forget just how harsh the weekdays are. So I’m like “eh, it can’t be as bad as I remember.” But by Tuesday, I’m writhing on the floor screaming “IT’S EXACTLY LIKE I REMEMBER!!!!” Nah, I’m joking. It’s not that bad. Monday’s over and we’re all still sane (well, at least I am). I think we all deserve some brownie points! Or real brownies. Take your pick.

It’s been pretty slow around here lately. My mom’s been under the weather, which means I’m in Mom-Mode. Being in Mom-Mode means no time for me to cook like I want to. Not cooking means no yummy food. No yummy food means grumpy me. Grumpy me means stress for my mom. It’s all one vicious cycle that doesn’t include good food, which makes it that much worse. Needless to say, I needed to break that cycle. So I opted for something random and delicious. What did I come up with? Spaghetti tacos. No joke, they’re real.

Surprisingly, they turned out ok. I made them with gluten-free rice noodles so my sister could eat them, and I kind of had my doubts about that. But if you dump some sauce and 2 pounds of ground beef on something, chances are it’ll taste good. So that’s what I did. It’s the combination of the hard, crunchy taco shell with the squishy (for lack of a better adjective) noodles that makes it so good. They were definitely something I’d make again, even if they were a little weird. But hey, sometimes you need weird just to keep things interesting, right?

4 thoughts on “Two words: Spaghetti. Tacos.

  1. Hey Picco!

    I’m writing to you from the interesting place called my bedroom! Perhaps you’ve seen me here.

    I LOVE LOVE LOVED those spaghetti tacos. If you had put a little hobo sauce on them, they would have been perfect!

    Also, I think our competition is killing me…literally. I received like 10 pounds of water in the hospital and I’m now retaining it. Not fair!!! Water weight is the worst! It doesn’t even taste good!

    • Ollo Sugar Mamma,

      I’m glad you liked the tacos. And no offense, but I’m pretty sure that “hobo” sauce would have ruined them. Actually, I don’t even want to know what hobo sauce is….

      I think our competition is over. In case you haven’t noticed, I’ve been eating 24/7. So let’s just call it quits and say I won, ok? Ok. Lovely.

  2. Picco,

    The Spaghetti Tacos looked very tasty. However, the blogs of the mother and daughter were even tastier.

    I hear that your mother spent two days in the horsepital. Hope that the nephrologist will be able to come up with a satisfactory solution for her condition.

  3. Pingback: Gluten-free Butterbeer Cupcakes « Spoonlighting

Care to comment?

