It’s all Greek to me

Welcome to Stalker Sunday. I know, you’re thinking “Stalker Sunday? On a Tuesday?! What’s weirder than that?!” Gerard Butler doing a scary good job at singing in Phantom of the Opera. That’s way weirder, believe me.

My grandma sent a picture of her peach flan for my Stalker Sunday…thing… so ta-da:

Looked pretty fantastic to me. Thanks Mimi :)

I spent a majority of my day sitting in a chair at the orthodontist’s. And by majority I mean only an hour. But that’s still about 60 minutes longer than I wanted to be there. In that lovely hour of fun not only did I get fitted for an extremely attractive mouth guard, but I got some weird spring coils put around my braces. So now it looks like I have a robot in my mouth. Fun stuff, huh?

Needless to say I wasn’t really in the mood to chew. So after much surfing of food blogs, Greek Lemon Chicken Soup appeared. I don’t even remember how I found it. I think it found me. We were meant to be together, obviously. I’m going to hire Taylor Swift to write some cheesy song about us. Get excited.

This soup was wonderful. It was light and…tangy? I’m sorry. My vocabulary is pretty limited. Unless you want me to start using PSAT vocab words. But I’m not sure grandiloquent or vacuous would be a good adjective to use here…hmmm…?

But wait, there’s more. Not only did I make soup I made pita bread too! Who’s impressed? You are? Lovely. Bonus cool points for you.

Let’s start off with the soup, shall we???

Cut up carrots. Blah blah blah. Let’s forget about the carrots for a second. See that knife in the background? That, my friends, might be the most wonderful inanimate object to come into my life. It’s a 6″ Wusthof knife that I got from Grandma Peach Flan for my birthday. Nope, I didn’t get a car. Or a phone (I’m still working on that one…). Or social skills. For my 16th birthday I got a knife. And I was thrilled. Weird? Yes. But that knife slices food like nobody’s business. Or bizness, if you’re feeling ghetto.

Next, put some olive oil in a pot and add the carrots. This picture looks much like the one above it, but minus the knife :( I miss it already.

Yay! There’s the knife! Cut up a lemon and juice it. Please take the time to make sure you have a paper cut on your hand. I know I did.

Oh, and now would also be a good time to remember you don’t own a juicer to juice the lemons in. While grumbling, take a strainer and place it over a cup and juice the stupid lemons. Although, after a long day at the orthodontist, the monster cup displayed my emotions to a T. And yes, there’s the knife again. I feel like this is turning into a game of Where’s Waldo? It’s official. The knife shall now be dubbed Waldo. Waldo the Wusthof. Classic.

Pour the lemon juice along with some chicken stock into the pot. I didn’t get a picture of this step because, frankly, it looked like a big pot of gross.

See what I mean? The lighting was also getting on my nerves, so I’ll let the lights take the blame for me. Stick a store-bought (thank you, Schnucks…) rotisserie chicken into the pot of chicken stock/lemon juice/carrot stuff.

In a separate pot, boil water and cook orzo pasta. Or, to make it gluten free like I did, use small gluten free pasta. I used shells but the sky’s the limit. Ok not literally. There really aren’t many gluten free pastas out there…

After letting the chicken simmer in the pot for a bit, take it out, dice it, and set it aside.

To thicken up the soup, you’re going to have to use the secret ingredient: kryptonite. Good luck finding it. Kidding. The secret ingredient is egg yolks. Take out a little broth and stick it in a bowl. Slowly add 3 egg yolks to the mixture and whisk your heart out. This is so your soup doesn’t turn into Greek Lemon Scrambled Egg Soup. That could be *possibly* tasty, but not what we’re going for here. Once whisked, add the yolk mixture and chicken back into the pot.

Heat through and serve. And then devour.

And now a word from our sponsor-Pita Bread.

I was amazed at how easy pita bread is to make. It’s basically put the ingredients in a bread machine, let the machine kneed it, roll it out, bake it, the end.

But to go into a little more detail, combine all the ingredients in the bread machine and set the machine on the dough setting.

Divide the dough up into 10 parts.

Roll each ball of dough into a 6″ circle. Kind of like my 6″ knife, but…not.

Bake at 500 degrees for 3 minutes, flip and cook for another 3-4 minutes. And voilà.

Two Greek foods today. Bam. I felt so cultured.

Many thanks to Amy over at momadvice.com for letting me steal borrow her recipe.

Join me in Stalker Sunday :)

How to participate? Glad you asked. Even though I mention how to in every other Stalker Sunday post. Short term memory loss, much?
1) Take a picture of food you made off of a blog/website.
2) Send it to me at thespoonatic(at)gmail(dot)com including the name of the concoction you made and the name of the place you got the recipe from.
3) Eat the food you make. Duh?


Greek Lemon Chicken Soup

8 cups chicken broth

1/2 cup fresh lemon juice

4 carrots, chopped

Salt & Pepper

1 cup cooked orzo pasta (or gluten free pasta)

Diced, cooked chicken meat (from a rotisserie chicken)

Lemon slices for garnish

3 egg yolks

Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add noodles and cook until tender. Drain, and rinse under cool running water. Meanwhile, in  a large saucepan or Dutch oven, saute the carrots in two tablespoons of olive oil for 5 minutes.  Heat up broth and fresh lemon juice and bring it to a simmer. Gently add your rotisserie chicken and put a lid on your pot.  Reduce heat, cover, and simmer 15 minutes.  Pull out your chicken and set aside to dice.  Meanwhile, beat the egg yolks until light in color. Gradually add some of the hot soup to the egg yolks, stirring constantly. Return the egg mixture to the soup pot and heat through. Add the pasta and chicken. Ladle hot soup into bowls and garnish with lemon slices.

Pita Bread (for the Bread Machine)

1 1/3 cup water
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon salt
3 cups bread flour
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
2 teaspoons yeast

Put ingredients into the bread machine in order listed. Run the dough cycle on your machine. When the bread machine beeps, pull the dough out of the bread machine and divide the dough into ten pieces. On a lightly floured surface, roll each piece into a six inch circle. Place on a baking sheet and bake at 500 degrees for three minutes. Using a spatula, flip the pitas and cook for another three to four minutes on the flip side. As in “see you on the flip side”. Get it? Yeah, never mind…

6 thoughts on “It’s all Greek to me

  1. WOW!!! What a wonderful blog. Very inspired. I am guessing that your inspiration came from—a knife. Not just any old knife—a new Wusthof!!! The Grandma Flan surely is a peach.

    You should be receiving another picture (via snail mail) depicting food, but it will not look as grand as the peach flan.

    • Thank you :) I like to draw inspiration from random things, obviously. But it turns out ok, right…? And yes, Grandma Flan is just peachy.

      I’ll be staring at the mailbox til your picture comes…

    • I was a little worried at first too, but if you have the bread machine do all the hard work it saves a lot of time. And sanity. I know the other way to make it is to do it by hand and knead it for a bazillion years, which I didn’t do for a number of reasons. The main one was that I’d have to knead it, and kneading things isn’t exactly on the top of my list of things I enjoy doing…

      But good luck with the pita bread if you end up making it! I promise it’s easy. I wouldn’t steer you wrong.

Care to comment?

