How do I love thee, pizza? Let me count the ways…

I love pizza. Like L-U-V love. I also love Italians, avocados, newsies, people with blue eyes, celtic thunder, and chuck taylor converses, but I still have 961 days to ramble about all that. And believe me, I will…

But back to pizza. I can’t believe I’ve already been doing this blog for 5 days and I’ve put off making pizza until now. It’s the best combination of the best foods ever, all combined together for one amazing meal of yummy goodness. And luckily today’s pizza went swimmingly :)

When I was trying to figure out what recipes to make this week, I read that the Pizza Napoletana was the staple in Italy. So I looked at the ingredients. Cheese? Yum. Tomatoes? Double yum. Anchovies? NOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!  I don’t think I’m ready to make the leap from basic cheese to having sea creatures on any of my food, let alone pizza. I really can’t stand sea food. If you put anchovies on pizza, to me, that’s pretty much like plopping a giant live octopus right on it. Yeah, nasty.

But tonight’s pizza was absolutely amazing. So amazing that I had 4 pieces. Oops. I was about to give up on the whole Silver Spoon stuff because I hadn’t made a good meal all week and was starting to miss Papa Johns and mac and cheese. And then came the Margherita Pizza to save the day! This pizza was awesome. It’s different, and since there’s no sauce, it’s much lighter. Hence, my eating almost 1/2 an entire pizza.

PIZZA MARGHERITA

If The Silver Spoon magically appears in your hands one day and you have no idea what to make, go straight to page 198. Yum yum yum. Oh, and since I enjoy cheating on recipes, I pretended it didn’t call for the 3-hour dough that you have to make. Jiffy instant dough is so much easier :)

Just though I’d throw in the poor mis-shapen sister pizza to the margherita one. I realized last minute that just 1 pizza wouldn’t feed my entire huge family, so this one was kinda an after thought. Sorry, ugly pizza :( You were delicious too, just not as easy on the eyes…

2 thoughts on “How do I love thee, pizza? Let me count the ways…

  1. Picco,

    Chuck Taylor Converse – How I used to love thee. Of course, I never had the customized version that you sport. When you go to Italy, I think that you will find their native pizza to be quite different from the SS version.

    Vi-King

Care to comment?

