Who makes ice cream when it’s 24 degrees? Only me.

I’m happy :)

Not totally uncommon for me, but I’m a pretty melancholic person (Melon? Now I want watermelon. Everything somehow finds its way back to food… ). I can usually fake being super happy, but not today, nooooo siree. I didn’t need to. Not only did the food tonight turn out ok, but I felt like I learned a thing or two in school, we’re leaving for a semi-vacation soon, I’m repainting my room, my long-lost (ok not really) friend called, I’m over my cold and I’m going to take a learn to chop-choppy a knife class (ok that’s not what it’s called. But you get what I mean. I’m gonna learn how to wield a knife. Properly.). Not a lot, but it’s enough to make me happy for at least today! :)

GELATO DI FRAGOLE

On to food. I finally planned ahead! *takes bow* Thank you, thank you. We all knew it was bound to happen one of these days. I stuck the ice cream insert bowl..type..thing..in the freezer yesterday and I was prepared to make ice cream this afternoon. And lemme tell ya, it was yummy. I didn’t follow the ice cream recipe in The Silver Spoon because it called for 6 egg yolks and refrigerating for a bunch of hours or something. I kinda skimmed through it. Not very thoroughly, obviously. So I used this recipe:

Fresh Strawberry Ice Cream Recipe

from the Cuisinart Pure Indulgence Ice Cream Maker Recipe Booklet
Makes ~ 14 ½ cup servings

Ice Cream Ingredients

  • 3 cups fresh ripe strawberries, stemmed and sliced
  • 4 tablespoons fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1½ cups sugar
  • 1½ cups whole milk
  • 2¾ cups heavy cream
  • 1½ teaspoons pure vanilla extract

Directions

  1. In a small bowl, combine the strawberries with the lemon juice and ½ cup of sugar. Stir gently and allow strawberries to macerate in the juices for 2 hours. Strain the berries, reserving the juices. Mash or puree half the berries.
  2. In a medium mixing bowl, use a hand mixer on low speed to combine the milk and remaining granulated sugar until the sugar is dissolved, about 1 – 2 minutes. Stir in the heavy cream, reserved strawberry juice, mashed strawberries, and vanilla.
  3. Turn the [ice cream] machine on; pour the mixture into the freezer bowl, and let mix until thickened, about 20 – 25 minutes. Five minutes before mixing is completed, add the reserved sliced strawberries and let mix in completely. The ice cream will have a soft, creamy texture. If a firmer consistency is desired, transfer the ice cream to sn airtight container and place in freezer for about 2 hours.
  4. Remove from freezer about 15 minutes before serving.

Note: This ice cream will have a “natural” appearance of very pale pink. If a deeper pink is desired, add red food coloring sparingly by drops until desired color is achieved.

Thanks to http://www.thedeliciouslife.com for letting me use their recipe which I could have just copied from my Cuisinart manual, but I’m too lazy.

The ice cream was absolutely lovely. Not sure if that’s what I should have eaten when it’s so cold, but who cares. It gave me, hands down, the biggest brain freeze I’ve ever had in my entire life. And I think I could have done with out that last 1/2 tsp of vanilla. And I skimped on the fresh strawberries. This was about as fresh as they were gonna get.

I would like the thank Mr. Red Dye for guest staring in tonight’s ice cream. You can’t have strawberry ice cream that’s white, so he had to step in a bit….

When The Silver Spoon say ham, I’m assuming they mean prosciutto. Do Italians eat honey-baked ham…? Not sure. So I used prosciutto anyway. The crepes were good. Kinda salty from the prosciutto, but over-all pretty good. Wow, I’ve just used the words good and prosciutto more times in one paragraph than in my entire life. Yikes.

CRÊPES AL PROSCIUTTO E FONTINA

And that’s all the food. I feasted on Diet Dr Pepper and Fruit by the Foot all day today (I bounce back from being sick quickly), so I wasn’t really in the mood for a bunch of food. But today went well. Yay :)

2 thoughts on “Who makes ice cream when it’s 24 degrees? Only me.

  1. I would like the record to show that I do not condone eating Fruit by the Foot. And, piccola, there are a few typos. Your fingers were flying so fast! ;)

  2. Picco,

    From La Dolce Vita to The Delicious Life, you certainly do live The Good Life.

    Your post was very humerous and it even got my humerus to feel better, after a tough Rball match.

    Vi-King

Care to comment?

