Are you a fan of delicious flavor?

Then I’d suggest not eating what I made tonight. Ok, maybe make it, but with a few major tweaks.

I realized AFTER I made dinner and dessert that both things were pie-related. And that both of them weren’t in The Silver Spoon. *sigh* February’s already off to a bad start.

I opened the cabinet earlier and found myself face to face with a family size box of Oreos. There must have been at least 100 in there. I was in Heaven. So, of course I started craving Oreo something or other now. I decided on an Oreo pie crust with chocolate pudding filling. And, of course, we were out of pudding. After a bit of browsing on various food blogs, I came up with a recipe that I kinda improvised. But it turned out pretty well, so I’ll write it below. Then I started to get a bit carried away. I’m not sure why I always assume that powdered sugar makes things better. I always forget it gives whatever it’s in that weird after-taste. The pudding was no exception. I poured the pudding into a crust I made earlier from 20-25 crushed Oreos mixed with 4 tablespoons of melted butter, smooshed in a pie pan, and baked in a 350 degree oven for 5-7 minutes. In case that’s confusing, don’t bake the pudding, only the pie crust…that sentence is oddly phrased. Sorry. Then I let it set in the fridge for 2 hours. ALMOST super amazing, but the powdered sugar ruined it :( Maybe next time I’ll add peanut butter too….oooh, I’m daring.

And for our main course? Chicken Pot Pie. I FOUND THE CHICKEN! It was hiding in the basement freezer-a place I usually avoid. So I threw together some frozen veggies, chicken and cream of chicken goop and stuck it in between 2 puff pastries. Haha, I’m sorry. That sounds totally unpleasant. Lemme rephrase. I ventured out to my garden this evening and picked a basketful of fresh vegetables. Then, after returning inside, washed and sliced them. I made a quite yummy filling which I shall call “cream of chicken”. I’m not entirely sure what’s in it….and then after cooking the chicken (which is also quite fresh, having recently pushed up daisies), I mixed all my ingredients together and placed them in between two succulent layers of flaky pastry to bake for half an hour at 350 degrees. There, better?

It’s supposed to blizzard tonight. HA, yeah right. It rained ice (it iced?) earlier today for like 2 seconds and now there’s just a sheet of ice on everything. How does that translate into 12-2o inches, Mr. Weather Man?!?!?!!?!? If it even kinda snows, I shall give the meteorologist a hug for getting it right, for once.

Chocolate Pudding

Ingredients
1/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup corn starch
3 tbs. cocoa powder
2 1/2 cups milk (I’d use 2% or whole so it thickens up)
1 tsp. vanilla

1. Put the cornstarch in a bowl and, while stirring, slowly combine 1/4 cup of milk into it. Set aside.

2. Mix the sugar, cocoa and 1/4 cup of milk and stir until smooth.

3. Add the remaining 2 cups of milk and the cornstarch mixture into the pot.

4. Heat over medium heat, stirring constantly, until mixture comes to a boil. Be careful, chocolate burns easily!

5. Boil for one minute

6. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla

7. Chill pudding in fridge for 2 hours, or until set.

8. Devour, because it’s so darn amazing.

5 thoughts on “Are you a fan of delicious flavor?

  1. Picco, Picco,

    Your pic of the Chocolate Pudding would indeed tempt a choco-holic.

    Hmmmm. Clever description of the making of the pie. However, no pic of the Chicken Pot Pie–wonder why?

    I wonder how an Italian would pronounce chocolate. Would it be like chuck-oh-LOT?

    Vi-King

  2. I tried your chocolate pudding recipe, but I foolishly didn’t follow the “stirring constantly” bit of step 4 and ended up with lumpy pudding. I was the only one who ate it. But ignoring the lumps, it was really quite delicious! So thumbs up for the recipe. ;)

Care to comment?

