Wake up in the morning feeling like B Scotty

Chocolate-dipped Biscotti

I’m baaack!!!

Sorry for the lack of post these last couple of days. I was stressing out over random school stuff and a paper about Louis Braille. You know how hard it is to write a report on someone when there are only like 2 books in the world about him(at least that I can find)? I’ll tell ya, it’s pretty hard. Luckily, the assignment deadline was pushed to the 16th so I have another week to procrastinate about it now. *whew*In food news: I found this awesome recipe for biscotti a few days ago. I’m not a huge fan of Italian cookies since there’s such a huge difference between them and Oreos and Chips Ahoy. But I’ll eat biscotti and those small ones with the sesame seeds on them. Anyways, I made them today and they were so amazing I was pretty sure as I was eating them I heard a choir of angels singing Hallelujah in the background. They were one of the most amazing and easiest (to a certain degree) food items I’ve ever made. Can I sing its praises any more? Probably…but I’m getting bored.

I opted out of adding almonds into the dough because 1) almonds are just plain nasty and 2) we didn’t have any. And I also skimped on the almond extract since, once again, gross and not in the house.  So these were just plain biscotti, but still amazing.

Almost all of them were gone before the chocolate had a chance to dry. Yeah, they’re that fantastic.

Since I tampered with the recipe a bit, I can claim this as my own creation, right? If not, I give credit to the Italians since I forgot where I got the original recipe….

Biscotti

3 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cups sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 300 degrees F

In a small bowl, combine the eggs and vanilla

In another bowl, mix together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Gradually add the egg mixture and beat until a dough forms. Roll dough out on a lightly floured surface until it is about 12-14 inches long and 3-4 inches wide (the dough is really sticky and hard to work with, so don’t worry if the measurements aren’t exact). Transfer to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and bake for 35-40 minutes or until firm to the touch (it will spread while it is baking).

Transfer log to a cutting board and, using a serrated knife, cut on the diagonal until slices about 1/2 thick. Arrange on a baking sheet and bake for 10 minutes. Remove from oven, turn slices over, and bake an additional 10 minutes or until hard. Remove from oven and let cool.

Melt 3 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate and 1 tbs butter in saucepan over lowest possible heat, stirring constantly. Dip one end of biscotti in melted chocolate and let dry on a parchment-lined baking sheet.

Makes about 15-20 biscotti on a good day. If you’re like me, be happy to get 10.

8 thoughts on “Wake up in the morning feeling like B Scotty

  1. Almonds are okay but now that I no longer have teeth in my head, unground almonds are just not an option. However, may I suggest you not skip the almond extract next time? It tastes nothing like real almonds and everything like real delicious! Try it, you may like it. :-)

    PS. I’m with you, nothing beats an oreo. ;-)

    • SOOOO CLOSE!!!! Maybe next time I’ll give you a heads up before I post so you can be ready to type a comment :)
      And when I make these again, I’ll definitely plan ahead and put in almond extract!

  2. I tried this recipe yesterday, and it was yummy! I wonder if it’s good soft? I want to try not baking it the ten minutes per side after cutting.

    Ten, really? How big is your half-inch, anyway? I got twenty biscotti, and I didn’t even make it as long as I should have because my toaster oven only holds ten by ten. And since it’s ten inches across it makes sense I’d get twenty half-inch slices. Which I did. ;)

Care to comment?

