Oh I’m sorry, I was lost in beef heaven

Those were the words uttered by my sister after she became unresponsive while eating dinner. Funny thing is I made a pork roast. Cow. Pig. They’re both the same thing at my house, obviously.

The food was really good tonight. Probably because the meat marinated for 6 hours and I hardly followed the recipe… the recipe called for a “1/2 bunch of mixed fresh herbs, including parsley”. Since those had to be, hands down, the most vague instructions I’ve ever read, I kinda cheated and used a packet of Italian seasonings. But everyone thought that it was the best meal I’ve made so far. Although, it really doesn’t have much competition.I also mustered up the courage to make not one, but two recipes tonight!!! Since we’re new to the whole no gluten thing, we’ve been experimenting with some different flours and such. Word of advice, don’t buy Red Mill all purpose flour that’s gluten free. It’ll make whatever you use it in taste like beans. I know, because I got to taste the disaster that was Green Bean Biscuits.But this recipe went well, aside from the giant hole in the bread. I don’t want to talk about what happened. If you’re ever feeling in the mood for non-wheat stuff, have a go at it :)

Gluten Free Cornbread

1 cup white rice flour
3/4 cup stone-ground cornmeal
2 to 3 Tablespoons of sugar
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon butter
2 beaten eggs
1 cup milk
1/4 cup melted butter
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Grease bread pan. Mix the dry ingredients (flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, and salt) together in a medium bowl and set aside.
In a small bowl, mix together the  milk eggs and butter. Add this mixture all at once to the flour mixture and stir until just moistened. Pour batter into baking pan. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until a wooden toothpick comes out clean. Serve while it’s warm.
3 thoughts on “Oh I’m sorry, I was lost in beef heaven

  1. Picco,

    Glad to see that you have returned to your specialties of preparing delicious meals and interesting narratives. A meatetarian would probably know the difference between pork and beef. Evidently your sister is not one of those. To marinate the meat was a great idea. The pork roast looks absolutely delicious. I am sure that Robinhood’s female friend would say the same if Marian-ate it.

Care to comment?

