Irrational Fears of Picco:The Musical

Well look who’s back to blogging. That’s right, I am! After an 11 day hiatus, I am indeed back to writing and cooking and doing whatever it is I do with this blog.

To start off my post for today I shall bore you all with my list of irrational fears. First on the list is water. I’m terrified of water. Swimming pools, baths, big murky lakes filled with poisonous animals just waiting for me to come in so they can eat me, you name it. I don’t avoid water like the plague, but I only swim it if I absolutely have to. Next, people. Ok not people themselves, but I hate being the center of attention and when people stare at me. Which I guess has turned into me also being scared of speaking in public. But again, it’s not like I refuse to speak in front of people. I do it a lot and if I ever have to read in class, I willingly do. I just save my hyperventilating for later. I’m also scared of high, open spaces. Not because I’m scared of heights, but because I think I’ll jump off the edge for no reason. And I’m scared of ligers. Ok, anyone think I have serious issues yet??? Oh but wait, there’s more. After a series of reoccurring nightmares I’ve been having lately, I’ve realized that I’m absolutely mortified of singing. In real life, I’m no good at singing. At all. Actually I’m pretty sure that the second I open my mouth to sing, a puppy dies somewhere. And obviously I’m no better at singing in my dreams. The horrible dream I’ve had the last 3 nights in a row is that I wake up in the morning and realize my life has turned into a musical. And I have no clue what songs everyone’s singing. So when it’s my turn to sing, I either just stand there terror-struck or I start to sing and end up screeching and everyone gets mad at me. It’s absolutely horrible. Pretty soon the dream is going to affect me so much I’m going to be scared of falling asleep…oh joy.

All I wanted to eat today was chocolate and peanut butter something-or-other. I got the recipe for Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip cookies from here and they were…ok. I used my lovely gluten-free bisquick instead of flour and they tasted sort of gritty to me. Well, more gritty than usual since gluten-free anything isn’t exactly the king of smoove tastes. But apparently they tasted good enough, because my sister was making up commercials about  them. And also testimonials of various people who had eaten the cookies and how they had changed their lives. We’re an odd bunch over here. The recipe said that the cookies wouldn’t spread and to place them as close as possible to each other. Umm, excuse me, does this look like not spreading to you?

No. I didn’t think so. One cookie didn’t mush together with the other ones and I got a pretty sweet picture of it, if I do say so myself.

So, what are your irrational fears??? Or am I the only one with them…?

8 thoughts on “Irrational Fears of Picco:The Musical

  1. Well, let’s see. I used to be a competitive swimmer and I have always been terrified of water. Pool, lake, ocean, pond, bathtub. You name it. Then there’s that whole heights thing that has just been getting worse with age. At piano recitals I freeze up and forget entire pieces I have been working on for months. Forget my steps when in the middle of an Irish dance performance. (My students used to love that.) So anything having to do with the stage. What else. Oh yes! Confrontation, dissension and lying. I’m afraid of it all. So I’m going to have to say YOU ARE PERFECTLY NORMAL. ;-)

  2. I have an irrational fear that cookies that spread will not taste as good as those that hold their shape. It is irrational because I’ve never not finished a cookie, no matter how flat it was. :-)

  3. I have some comforting words for you, which may have been uttered originally by a famous person.

    The only thing you have to fear, is fear itself.

  4. Yay! You’re back! I was wondering what happened to Picco. ;)

    There are only two things that I am afraid of, and that’s needles and cough syrup! I’m not kidding, I am really scared of cough syrup. I have nightmares about that horrid stuff!

  5. My two biggest fears? The first is the cranky and just plain weird librarians (yes, there are more than one) at my neighborhood library. If you check out more than 2 books, be prepared to listen to a lady gripe, “UGH! I’m gonna be here ALL DAY doing this!! Do you really need all these books?!” I know someday she’s gonna snap and come after me.

    Also, people who mumble and strut when they walk. There’s something definitely sinister about them. :)

Care to comment?

