Picco Drew and the case of the Phantom Black Eye

The worst part about non-visible pain is that no one can ever tell how bad it is, or even if you’re telling the truth about it. At the moment, I have a black eye. But no ordinary black eye. It’s a phantom black eye. This type of injury has all the pain of a real bruise (and possibly more), but it’s…invisible. I’m not exactly sure what I did, but my left eye is killing me. This fun pain is it’s also making me say cool phrases like “GAH! You made me close my eyes too fast!” and “Look me in the eyes…Does this one look darker to you?”. Everyone in my family is completely scared of me now.

I’ve realized that I haven’t really been cooking from The Silver Spoon lately. Not that I really care. That cookbook was starting to bother me, with its vagueness and disgusting recipes. So I’m think I’m going to take a break from it for a bit. Well, I guess I’m going to officially announce I am taking a sabbatical from the Silver Spoon, since I’ve been taking a break from it for a while now. I am going to move on to more fascinating and non-mind numbing projects. What these projects are, I’m not sure just yet. But I’ll think of something.

Dinner tonight? Meatloaf. Delicious. My mom has an amazing meatloaf recipe that uses ground beef, ketchup, an egg, Worcestershire (which I think is my new favorite word. Sorry “awesome”, you’ve been voted off the island.) sauce, a sauteed onion and oatmeal. As gross as that may sound, it’s amazing. Beyond amazing. So amazing that I used over two pounds of meat and my family inhaled both meatloaves I made in less than 20 minutes.

I’m too lazy to upload my pictures from dinner tonight, so here’s a picture I found that I thought resembles it.

Eh, good enough.

3 thoughts on “Picco Drew and the case of the Phantom Black Eye

  1. Picco,

    You must be in your second childhood. Coming up with the last name of Drew instead of Hitchcock.

    The way your family devours food takes me back to my college days. I knew a fellow who was a champion eater. He also had two other qualities. So, we called him eatin, cheatin, sleepin Johnson. The last part is true except for the name, which has been changed to protect the guilty. Who knows, he may now be the CEO of a Fortune 500 company.

    Not only do you have a black eye, albeit invisible, I believe that you have given the Silver Spoon a very visible Black Eye. I sense a law suit coming here and hope that you know a good lawyer.

    BTW If you are interested, I do have a great recipe that has as one of its ingredients—Black Eyed Peas. I rest my case.

  2. Ciao!

    Okay so:

    1) I love the way you write

    2) That stuff about the meatloaf drawing that resembles what you made made me LITERALLY LOL and get weird looks from my colleagues (I’m supposed to be working)

    3) Consider me subscribed to you blog!

    4) Look forward to reading more!

    • 1) Haha grazie :)

      2) It made me laugh too! I’m glad someone else has an amazing sense of humor…my mom read the entire post without even smiling. Tough crowd over here.

      3) YES!!!! THANK YOU!!!!

      4) Oh great, the pressure’s on…*duh duh duh*…

      Oh, I just noticed that you are my FIRST EVER reader from Italy. I’m pretty sure I had a heart attack when I realized that :) Major cool points for you.

Care to comment?

