My (hilarious) Saturday night with Brian Regan

Can I just say something? Brian Regan is an absolute genius. Not only is he brilliant, he’s also hilarious. Or as some people say HI.LAR.I.OUS. Seriously, if you don’t know who he is, how can you have lived with yourself for so long without him in your life?! Go Google him. Now. *side note* There is another guy also named Brian Regan who is in prison for being a spy. I don’t think his comedy sketches are as funny as this Brian Regan, so don’t bother with him.

Actually, just watch this.

I was lucky enough to score front row tickets to the non-spy Brian Regan show last Saturday night. How did I get such amazing seats, you ask? The tickets went on sale at 10am back in March. I spent from 9:55-10:00am blankly staring at the website and clicking refresh, waiting for them to go on sale. Annoying and a total waste of my time, but hey, I was front row, DEAD CENTER. Me=happy :) Let me give you a run down of what happened on possibly one of the best nights of my young life so far:

The (totally un)Official Brian Regan 2011 Tour Review

Mr. Regan is funny. Blah blah blah. If you want his bio, go look him up. On to Saturday! He was giving 2 shows at The Pageant, since us Saint Louisans love him so much. My mom, dad, sister and I went to the 7pm show, which was kind of a bummer because they had to rush us out as soon as it was over to get ready for the 9:30pm show. Which means I couldn’t gawk at the stage after it was over thinking “Woah, Brian Regan…was…there…so close….woah…”. Well I mean, I still did, but I had to be speedy. His younger brother Dennis did a 20 minute opening act for him. He was pretty funny, but seemed a little awkward. Not that I didn’t enjoy him, but I was kind of like “Bring out Brian…please…I’m here for Brian, not you…”. So 7:30-ish, Brian finally comes out. As soon as he starts talking I’m like GAH!!! *smacks forehead* I watched this skit on youtube earlier today! Most of his skits came from his All By Myself CD, which I was listening to that day to pass the time. Stupid idea. He had a few new things, but I could recite most of the show word-for-word along with him. As funny as he is, he seemed a little stiff and forced, probably because he’s been reciting the exact same thing every night for weeks. The only part where I was actually dying laughing was when he was talking about porridge and someone yelled out “UPS!” to get him to do his UPS skit. He started laughing, said he’d do it at the end and then he lost his train of thought. So someone next to my dad tried to help him and said “Ummm, porridge…” and he did this whole improv thing about lame porridge jokes. Ok, it was funnier if you were actually there. So summing things up, he was funny as always, but not as funny as he is in his DVDs and CDs, but still AMAZING!!!!!!! :)


Food-wise, the other night I was feeling uninspired and had a 4 lb. frozen chicken. Bad combination. So, using some random recipe I found, I adapted it and created….THIS.

If you’re wondering why there’s some meat missing from the left side of the chicken, it’s because I wasn’t fast enough with my camera. And SOME PEOPLE are really impatient/hungry. For once, it wasn’t me. But the recipe is seriously really good and if you are ever stuck with a chicken and a crock pot, I’d recommend using it. And I’m not just saying that because I created it.

Easy Chicken Crockpot Recipe

  • 1-1/2 tablespoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 whole roasting chicken, about 5 pounds (frozen or thawed, it’s up to you. I used frozen and it turned out amazingly)

In a small bowl, combine spices together. Remove any giblets from inside and clean chicken. Rub spice mixture onto chicken. Add chicken to crockpot. I bet you’re thinking WHAT?!! No liquids?! Nope. There will be plenty of chicken juice by the end of it… ;) Ew. Anyway… Cook on low 6 hours if thawed or 6-8 if frozen. Since all crockpots are different, cut into the chicken and see if juices run clear towards the end of the cooking time.

That’s it. It’s easy and delicious. Two of my favorite adjectives.

4 thoughts on “My (hilarious) Saturday night with Brian Regan

  1. What a wonderful and funny blog. You were definitely inspired. You really let all of us know that you are a big fan of the son of a former President. I watched the Dinner Party and Brian is a funny guy, with a very visual presentation. WOW—Row 1 and seats 14-17. I am very impressed with your ticket taking technique. It reminds me of the seats your father had when he went to a Gallagher “concert”—I made that up.

    The crockpot chicken looks great. I have a pretty good idea of who made off with the missing part. I am sure that everyone enjoyed it.

  2. Pingback: Brian Regan on Letterman Oct 2006 | Birthday Gift Shop

Care to comment?

