It’s the end of the world as we know it. Maybe…

Congratulations on surviving The Rapture :) Apparently that preacher dude was just trying to psych us out, because now the real end of the world is OCTOBER 21st. DUH! Silly us. But that’s a whole 5 months away. I don’t know if I can handle that much suspense. And that was sarcasm, in case you couldn’t tell.

Also, happy belated birthday to my amazing, wonderful, beautiful (I’m running out of descriptive adjectives…) mom! She turned 39. Again.  She was fine when we were at Ted Drews (with some of my favorite people on the planet) last Sunday, but later in the day she got this weird fever and has been in bed since then. My poor mom :( So I’ve pretty much been running the house. Yes, thank you, thank you :) Actually I don’t know how good of a job I’m doing if I’m sitting here blogging…hmmm….

My dad’s brother visited last week and tried to one-up me (and not the Mario Bros. green mushroom kind) in the cooking department. He cooked pretty much every meal and all I could do was eat it and apologize to my diet for the carb overload. I figured I’d post some pictures of the food, even though I didn’t make it. But I did take the pictures AND eat it, so it’s pretty much the same thing as making it, right?Which one’s gluten free, hmmmm???? Aside from the fact that if you scroll over them, one of the pictures is titled “gluten free lasagna”, you’d never be able to tell!!!!! MUAHAHAHA!!! *ehem* Moving on….This was some of the best curry I’ve ever had. Unfortunately, I couldn’t quite capture the deliciousness of it. This was the least gross-looking picture I had. Sorry.Actually, I don’t give myself enough credit, I did make one thing this week. I call it….wait for it….Yogurt with Cucumber and Dill! Guess what’s in it? I sort of improved a recipe using 1/2 cup plain yogurt, 1/2 a cucumber and some dill. It was so good, the only picture I got of it was when it was almost gone :)

Ok, I’ll stop talking, but one last thing. Did anyone seriously think the world was going to end May 21st? I want honest answers from you people. Don’t we all know it’s going to end in 2012? I mean, they even made a movie about it. How much more proof do we need?! Gosh. ;)

11 thoughts on “It’s the end of the world as we know it. Maybe…

  1. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

  2. Think Mommy’s fever came about because she is spreading lies about her age.

    I think your Uncle Chris inherited his culinary skills from his maternal grandfather.

    Forget about October 21 and 12-21-2012. The world will not end until the Minnesota Vikings win the Super Bowl. It will not happen in 2012. When it does happen, I will become enraptured (delighted without measure).

  3. I saw a billboard about the non-rapture that made me crack up… it quotes a bible verse about not knowing the day or the hour and then says “Well, that was awkward.”

  4. Dear Picco,

    I concur, the lasagnas look wonderful. I did not get to taste them, but did have
    the curry dish for lunch last Saturday with Chris. It was awesome! (You have a
    kindred spirit in the kitchen with your uncle.)

    As for the “end of days,” this is about the 99th time I have heard this old canard
    spouted by some religious kook. They always have some explanation for the present
    non-event and a new date for the future non-event, so much for awkwardness.

    Keep up the blog, and keep up the cooking. (I love the leftovers!)

    Mimi

Care to comment?

