Holy Green Bean Aftertaste, Batman!

For those of you who haven’t seen the teaser trailer for the new Batman movie, look no further.

Oh my Christian Charles Philip Bale, I can’t wait for it to come out next year. And on a slightly random note, apparently my aunt met David Bale, Christian’s father, years ago and he sent her flowers. I knew there was a reason my family was so cool.For those of you who care (which should be all of you. sheesh), I had a wonderful 16th birthday. My parents, grandmother, aunt, sister and I all went out to dinner Thursday night. And then yesterday the festivities continued and I went to my friend’s house. We had a Beverly Hillbillies marathon and watched movies of us when we were little, being total goobers ;)  But the best part of being 16 is now I can finally say “I’m 16 years old, I’m not a child” and my dad can say “Have you lost your senses completely?! He’s a human, you’re a mermaid!” To which I’d reply “I don’t care” and then he’d yell “Ariel, I’m going to get through to you. And if this is the only way, so be it.” And he’d destroy my statue of Prince Eric with his trident. That’s all from memory, so don’t quote me on it… ;)

My sister is going to camp all next week so, being the loving sister I am, I made her some cookies to tote along.  I want to say I made the cookies, they were so amazing that we ate them all, and then we brushed each others’ hair and gabbed about American Idol. But unfortunately that’s not the story. I used Bob’s Red Mill Chocolate Chip Cookie mix and that, my friends, was my first mistake. The real (and depressing) story is the dough had the consistency of lumpy cornmeal and the cookies wouldn’t cook, ironically. Well, ironic in more of an Alanis Morissette kind of way, rather than a Noah Webster kind of way… AND as they were baking, I took one whiff of the scent filling the kitchen, almost yakked, ran to the trash to find the package and, much to my chagrin, saw the ominous ingredient: BEAN FLOUR. If I were to ever meet Mr. Bob of Bob’s Red Mill I would hug him and say thank you for all the wonderful foods you supply for my family and for Celiacs everywhere. But then I’d smack him upside the head and scream BEAN FLOUR???? IN COOKIES?!!?! REALLY?!?!?!?!?! There’s nothing grosser than the smell of cooking beans. Ok, maybe I’m over-exaggerating a tad. The cookies didn’t turn out *disgusting*, but my sister did say “Mmmmm….there’s nothing quite like a green bean-y aftertaste in chocolate chip cookies.” So, my review of this Bob’s Red Mill cookie mix is…eat at your own risk…or if you have no tastebuds. If you *are* going to buy any BRM products, buy the brown rice flour and just use that. Or use the brown rice flour mixture in this post.Oh and super fast, it was my dog’s 1st birthday…July 23rd. I meant to mention her in a post, but I was obviously just too distraught with the passing of Amy Winehouse that I forgot. Yeah, that’s why… but Happy 1st Birthday Gemma! You’re the best and most adorable dog on the planet. Oh, and you smell really bad. I’ll give you a bath if I can ever tear myself away from watching the Batman trailer…

11 thoughts on “Holy Green Bean Aftertaste, Batman!

  1. I still have the card that came with the flowers in case you want me to dig it up for your hope chest!

  2. Glad you had such an amazing birthday!!! haha I’ve tried “I’m {insert teen age}, I’m not a child”, but my mom replies with “you’re under 18 – you’re still technically a child.” So yeah…doesn’t work too well with me. ;)
    You’re dog is so cute!! :D Aren’t dogs just amazing? :D

    -Tia

    • Ahh, sorry bout that. I haven’t actually used I’m 16 years old yet, but I think if I do, I’ll have the same outcome you have :/
      Isn’t she!?!! She’s awesome. But kind of dumb. I died dramatically in front of her the other day just to see what she would do, and she licked my face and walked away. She’s so adorable, but so stupid…

      • hahaha I’ve died dramatically in front of my dog so many times…and she does the same thing. :P Hey your dog’s still a puppy, so maybe she won’t be so stupid in her later years… But even if she is, stupid dogs are so amusing to watch. :D

        -Tia

  3. I heard that you received much moola for your 16th Bday. With the stock market taking a beating the other day and maybe again on Monday, I just might be coming to you for a loan.

  4. BTW I meant to remark that you probably enjoyed the BG music associated with the Beverly Hillbillies TV shows. Some real fine banjo pickin. By BG I meant Blue Grass and not the Bee Gees. Hee Haw!!!

  5. Pingback: British boys+gluten free chocolate chip cookies=happiness « Spoonlighting

  6. Pingback: My struggle with gluten-freefoodaphobia « Spoonlighting

Care to comment?

