Nothing screams fun quite like studying for the PSAT

Ok, the PSATs aren’t fun at all. In fact, that is a total lie. Like, the biggest lie since Eve said “Hey Adam dearie, I swear this apple is good!” So when I say that studying for the PSAT is fun, just assume that, like most things I say, I am being sarcastic.

Actually if we’re going to get all “technical”, I’m really studying for the NMSQT. But the PSAT and the NMSQT are basically the same thing, but you take the former as a sophomore and the latter as a junior. And PSAT is pronounced P-S-A-T, while NMSQT is pronounced nimsquat. And frankly, saying nimsquat sounds like a lame insult or some awful exercise my old personal trainer would have me do. So let’s stick with PSAT, shall we? Yes? Lovely.

And as for the photo of my books and stuff, I was trying to take a picture of them without making it look all staged and cheesy. Did it work? Nah. And now I’m going to submit that picture to Lillian Vernon or something…

In the food department (which sounds like an amazing department, if you ask me) my mom defrosted chicken against my knowledge, so I was pretty limited to what I could make. I turned to my best friend AllRecipes.com and BOOM. Right on the first page was the recipe of the day, which was Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken. I know you’re thinking to yourself “Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken? That’s a lot of adjectives to describe chicken. How will it turn out?” These are all very good questions! Will the chicken taste semi-decent? Will the garlic powder and lime juice refuse to coexist? Will Christian Bale finally get help for his anger management?! Tune in next week and find out!

Or you can just keep reading. Whatever floats your boat.

To answer your question (which was really my question…), the chicken DID turn out quite beautifully. I’m pretty horrid at cooking meat since it never cooks all the way through, but nosiree. Not tonight. It wasn’t pink on the inside at all! The chicken was with me. Kind of like how the force is with me, but much tastier….Hmm…Now I’m curious. What do you think the force tastes like…???

If you would like to recreate tonight’s epicness, I’m supplying my adaptation of the recipe. You’re welcome.

And now, like the fat kid in dodge ball, I’m out.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

Makes 4 chicken thighs

3/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/8 teaspoon paprika
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
1/4 teaspoon dried parsley

4 boneless, skinless chicken thighs

2 tablespoons butter
1 teaspoon garlic powder
3 tablespoons lime juice

In a small bowl, mix together salt, black pepper, cayenne, paprika, 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder, onion powder, thyme and parsley. Rub spice mixture onto both sides of chicken.

Heat butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Saute chicken until golden brown, about 6 minutes on each side. Sprinkle with 1 teaspoon garlic powder and lime juice. Cook 7-10 minutes, stirring frequently to coat evenly with sauce.

And voilà. Instant deliciousness.

4 thoughts on “Nothing screams fun quite like studying for the PSAT

  1. I’m so with you. But….I have a way out. :) I began studying for the PSAT last year….but as much as I really dont do well with tests, I dreaded taking it every time I opened the manual. sooo I was really happy to learn that if you get in college courses before you graduate from high school, you don’t have to take the PSAT, SAT, or ACT. Because..you know, you’re already in a college.

    So since I already wanted to do College Plus, I decided to get into that as soon as possible, haha! :)

    -Tia

  2. My take on the two acronyms:

    When studying for the NMSQT, you should tell people I…

    Need My Silentific Quiet Time

    To get PAST the PSAT, you need…

    Prayerful Study And Thoroughness

    BTW The chicken looks very testy, I mean tasty.

Care to comment?

