Stalker Sunday, take II

*ehem* I’m kind of in an awkward place here. And you know this is going to be awkward if I start this post by saying *ehem*. I’m not going to beat about the bush. I think you people don’t quite understand the concept of “Stalker Sunday”. Maybe you misunderstood me? When I say”Hey! I’m going to start up a weekly thing (? I’m not exactly sure what it is…) where you all make food off of blogs you stalk!” I don’t actually mean you have to legitimately stalk the blogs. Stalk is just a word I use. I also use the word duh a lot, but that doesn’t mean I actually think people/things are stupid (usually.) So, shall we try this again? And that wasn’t a question. It was a command. Fact.

Join me in Stalker Sunday :)

How to participate? Glad you asked. Even though I mentioned how to last week. Short term memory loss, much?
1) Take a picture of food you made off of a blog/website.
2) Send it to me at thespoonatic(at)gmail(dot)com including the name of the concoction you made and the name of the place you got the recipe from.
3) Give me emails to look forward to other than the Official SAT questions of the day I get daily. Can anyone say “lame”?

And now here are the participants of last week’s Stalker Sunday!!!

Piccola Italiana.

Yup. Me. BUT I did make some awesome food to make up for the lack o’ food that was submitted. *ehem*

Behold: CHOCOLATE CHIP SCONES.

I’d never actually made scones before, so this was a bit of a learning experience for me.  I got the recipe for Chocolate Chip Scones from the lovely lady Rach over at This Italian Family. Her food always looks amazing. And she’s a fellow WordPress blogger, so that makes her doubly awesome.

I’m going to let you all in on a little secret.  I’m deathly afraid of baking powder and baking soda. Don’t laugh. I wasn’t afraid of them before…*DUH DUH DUH* The Great Pizzelle Disaster of ’09. Or maybe ’08. I’m not big on details. For those of you who don’t know what Pizzelles are, they’re little, crisp, semi-bland Italian cookies. But they’re pretty delicious when made right. Emphasis on the right part.

I was making pizzelles once, goofed up and added baking soda instead of baking powder (or vice versa). No joke, it tasted like dish soap mixed with gasoline, sulfur and sadness. I still can’t get that taste out of my mind. That makes sense, right? So anyway, when this recipe called for both baking soda AND powder, I had a minor major panic attack. But here’s how the whole scone thing went down:

In a large bowl mix together flour, sugar, baking soda and baking powder. Double check to make sure you put in 2 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp baking soda. Doubt your sanity and check the measurements yet again. Then add the salt. Have a flash back to 3.7 seconds ago when you added the baking soda and baking powder and think you put the wrong amounts in. Hold the respective containers of the soda and powder up to the copy of the recipe. Say out loud “2 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder in the recipe, and THIS is the baking powder. 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda and THIS is the baking soda.” At this point any humans or animals in the vicinity will look at you like you’ve totally lost your marbles. Then cut in the cold butter so the flour mixture is lumpy. Like this:

Then add the buttermilk and vanilla. Worry about the baking soda and baking powder. Fold in the chocolate chips. Worry. Worry. Worry. Absentmindedly eat a flour and butter covered chocolate chip. Get grossed out, but carry on, my wayward son.

Plop the mound of dough onto a flat surface and kneed until all the ingredients are one big happy family. Remember how gross the Pizzelles tasted and worry, like those uptight New York parents who try to get their kids into elite preschools, that your scones will have the same fate.

Cut the scone batter in half and put each half into a bowl. Cook them one at a time for 13-15 minutes. After 15 minutes, check and see if they’re done just to find that they’re still mushy. Blame the fact that you must have messed up in the baking soda/powder department. Continue cooking for 5 more minutes, give up and yank them out of the oven. They don’t have anything raw in them, so you’re not going to die from salmonella. But you might die from grief over not having anyone submit anything to Stalker Sunday. *insert guilt trip*

And then let them cool and eat them, rejoice that you did*not* mess up the baking soda and powder and your scones are (aside from being 500 bazillion degrees because you didn’t really cool them) quite tasty.

Moral of the story? NEVER mess up baking soda and/or baking powder. You can see how it’s affected me. I don’t want to make you share my horrid fate.

And now, all you lovely people, what was the worst cooking mistake you’ve ever made?

But honestly, I’m sure it’s not possible to top The Great Pizzelle mistake. So don’t even try.

10 thoughts on “Stalker Sunday, take II

  1. Yay!! Thanks for the shout out! I love that you made these scones – they really are so delicious. I’m so glad that these worked out for you despite your baking soda/powder fears. ;) Seeing them here makes me want to make them again, haha!

    • No problem :) I was looking through your recipes and decided that scones are easyish and I read your blog so everyone wins. They were REALLY good! I’d definitely recommend making them. But don’t freak out with the baking soda and powder like I did…hmmm…

  2. Sorry, but I do not stalk any Blogs—other than yours. The only stalk I know of, being related to food, is a stalk of celery.

    Sorry again, but I have never made a cooking mistake. Mainly, because the only thing I cook (or more correctly fry) are eggs and that only once a week.

    BTW Are you getting away from your Italian bent? I thought that scones (which do look very scrumptidlyitious) were quite properly British or possibly Scottish.

    • That’s ok. I forgive you.

      Good luck with the weekly egg! It’s pretty hard to ruin eggs. But possible. I’ve done it.

      And yeah, I guess scones are British. I’ll try to get back to Italian food :)

  3. Well, it’s not really a baking mistake, but when I was a teenager, I made a beautiful dish of apple dumplings, and set them on the counter to cool. I then reached in the cupboard above the dumplings to get a glass out, dropped the glass on the counter. Had to throw the dumplings out as they were then covered in broken glass. Bummer.

    The other thing I did was make chocolate chip cookies and forget to put in the brown sugar. Completely! They were really weird. No one would eat them. Oh well. Live and learn.

    • Gahhh! That sounds awful. So much hard work…I think at that point I’d just be like I’M JUST GOING TO EAT YOU DUMB APPLE DUMPLINGS! Ok. Maybe not.

      Haha I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t eat cookies without sugar ;) But I’ve never had brown sugar in cookies! It sounds yummy. I might have to try that…

  4. Not actually a mistake, but once I made cheesecake and then my dad “accidentally” flipped it off the table and onto the floor. Long story short, we shall never know how it actually tasted.

Care to comment?

