5 foods that make me proud of being a St. Louisian

I love living in St. Louis. Really. It’s a pretty awesome place with some pretty awesome people. I mean, come on, we have Chuck Berry and Albert Pujols. I dare you to top that. I love it here so much my mom isn’t letting me leave I want to stay here for college ;) But did you know that some of the best foods in the galaxy originated here in Saint Louis? You didn’t? Lovely. Because if you did, then this post would have no point. Thus, writing this would be a huge waste of my time, when I could be watching re-watching Newsies instead.

I’ll start the list off with food we actually had tonight. Toasted ravioli.

Toasted raviolis are at the top of my list of favorite foods on the planet. Right up there next to “anything deep fried and/or coated in chocolate.” At first I thought the only place you could get this wonderful food was at actual Saint Louis restaurant, like Vito’s or Imo’s. But then one magical day my dad came home with a box. What was in the box, you ask? I’m not going to tell you!!! BUAHHAHAHAHAHA!

Just kidding. It was a box of frozen toasted ravioli.

Yes. Breaded ravioli stuffed with cheese and meat. Can anyone say YUM?! And the best part is that the company that makes these delivers them to anywhere. IN. THE. WORLD.*

*Ok I just made that part up. But I know they deliver to a lot of places. It says so on the back of the box. Booyah.

Another food from ol’ Saint Louie is the always fabulous Gooey Butter Cake. I wanted that to be my cake for my 16th birthday, but ended up getting a chocolate raspberry cheesecake. And now you are all smarter having heard that story. You’re welcome.

And according to some St. Louis website, peanut butter is from here too! We win.

But…there are some slightly icky foods that, although pretty nasty, are a tradition here. One of them is Provel cheese. Never heard of it? Consider yourself lucky. Provel is a totally fake, slightly disgusting, and yet strangely delicious cheese that *thankfully* I’ve only had on Imo’s pizzas. It was originally made from Provolone and Velveeta. Pro(volone)vel(veeta). Get it? Two of the grossest cheeses ever. But a staple here for us. Hmmm…we’re an odd bunch…

And finally, frozen custard.

You can’t come to Saint Louis without eating at Ted Drewes. For those of you who don’t know what frozen custard is, hey, join the club. All I know is that it’s good. Actually, it’s pretty dang amazing. 5 stars. Two enthusiastic thumbs up. In a battle between Christian Bale and Ted Drews, Mr. Drewes would win hands down.

You’re all welcome to Saint Louis anytime. Come feast on our slightly weird food. It gives you magical powders. Ok, not really. But how cool would that be?!

Oh yeah, and I made brownies tonight. But this post is getting a bit long. So here are the pictures. Collage style.

And one lonely brownie.

They were gluten free and quite tasty. Here’s the recipe I adapted from here. Knock yourself out. Not literally. That would be awkward.

1/2 cup butter
1 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 cup gluten free flour (I recommend the brown rice flour mixture in this post)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 xanthan gum

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease and flour (or coat well with cooking spray) an 8 inch square pan.

In a large saucepan, melt butter. Remove from heat, and stir in sugar, eggs, and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Beat in cocoa,  flour, salt, baking powder and xanthan gum. Spread batter into prepared pan.

Bake for 25 to 30 minutes.

Eat.

 

 

8 thoughts on “5 foods that make me proud of being a St. Louisian

    • Awww, thanks! That really means a lot :)

      Hey, feel free to stop in STL anytime. We’d love to have you. Ok, I’m only speaking for myself here, but I’m sure the other 2.5 million people would love for you to visit too ;)

  1. Picco,

    I cannot believe that you left out your father’s favorite STL food—Budweiser. I guess you forgot that BEER is a FOOD. You are forgiven.

    Seriously, I do look forward to visiting you, the rest of your family, and the other 2,499,992 Saint Louisans and—tasting some of those delicious STL food items that you have featured your latest bodacious blog.

  2. awesome, simply awesome. I’ve never been to St. Louis – but I really want to! It looks amazing. also, I’ve never had toasted ravioli. However, I LOVE ravioli, so I’m guess I’d love it. I totally agree with you “deep fried and/or coated in chocolate”. haha
    Yeah that cheese sounds gross. Like, I’m a magor cheese head, so I love Provolone and Velveeta BY THEMSELVES, but together…ugh that’s a bad mental picture.
    Ok…now I really want to visit St. Louis! ;)

    -Tia

    • You should come! Plan a roadtrip here and we can go up the arch, go to the City Museum, go shopping in The Loop… Or just be a hermit. I’m up for whatever ;)

      Toasted ravioli is like food of the gods. It’s like regular ravioli, but DEEP FRIED. And you eat it with marinara sauce….yum.

      You’ll have to come here and try Provel for yourself. I mean, it sounds gross and it *tastes* gross, but we all still eat it so it can’t be that bad. Eh, we have issues.

  3. Dear Picco,

    I’ve lived in StL 55 years and yet keep learning new things about my town from your blog. Who
    knew, recipes and city history all rolled into one
    tasty posting? Hope you find time to keep up
    the postings this school year— they bring smiles
    whenever I log on. Mimi

    • Learn something new everyday, huh? My blog is just a plethora of knowledge.

      I’ll try to post as much as I can, but it probably won’t be that hard. Blogging and making food vs. doing school…? Guess which one wins.

Care to comment?

