Gyro of the day, saved my life, saved my life.


I finally made gyros. May I have a round of applause, please?

I’ve been trying to make these dumb things for months now. Actually the Greek Meatballs I made back in July were supposed to be gyros. And then the other day when I made the pita bread (which is finally gone now) I forgot to defrost meat, therefore no gyros. But I made them last night and now I can cross that off my bucket list. Not that it was ever on my bucket list. Actually, I don’t even have a bucket list. Well. This is awkward. Quick change of subject. Sooooo, did you see that sky today? Talk about dark and stormy.

First off, I must warn you that these are cheater gyros. I didn’t use lamb, or even use thinly sliced pieces of meat like you’re supposed to. I used ground beef. Bad Picco. So un-Greek, I know. But I’m Italian, so yeah. Because that argument is so valid.

See that motley crew pictured above? Those were the only things I put into the ground beef. How can so few ingredients make something taste so good? No clue. But all I know was after reading there was only oregano, garlic powder, salt and pepper in it, I was like ba-da-ba-ba-ba I’m loving it.

After adding the spices to your ground beef, step back and admire the grossness.

Form the ground beef mixture into little pattie-type things. Cook until no loner pink in the center. Which, if you’re anything like me, never happens. I really hate cooking meat, in case you cared.

Yum.


While the meat is cooking, or after the meat is done, start on your tzatziki sauce. I have a bit of a liking for Greek yogurt these days. I always forget to get it, but it’s tasty. A little different, but it’s still pretty good.

Cut up about 1/4 of a seeded cucumber using your Wusthof knife. Oh you don’t have a Wusthof? No worries. I do. And I’d be honored to tell you just how amazing it is anytime. I’m actually going to start referring to dates as BW and AW- Before Wusthof and After Wusthof. As in “I was born in 16 BW.” I’m hilarious, I know.

Combine the Greek yogurt, cucumber and a little salt.

Slice the meatballs and serve on bread, along with the tzatziki sauce and some tomatoes and lettuce, if you want. Which you should want. Who doesn’t like tomatoes?! Lame people, that’s who. I love tomatoes and frown upon people who don’t have the creepy obsession with them like I do.

Thanks to Amy (again) over at Momadvice.com for letting me use one of her recipes.

Gyros

Tzatziki sauce

1 (8 ounce) container plain yogurt
1/3 cup chopped seeded cucumber
1/4 teaspoon salt

Filling

1 lb lean ground beef (or you can use ground turkey)
1 1/2 teaspoons dried oregano
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon pepper

4 pita breads
3 cups shredded lettuce
large tomato, chopped

Directions:

In a bowl, combine the ingredients for the tzatziki sauce. Cover and refrigerate. In separate bowl, combine ground beef and seasonings. Mix well. Shape into patties. Cook, covered, over medium to high heat for 10 to 12 minutes or until meat is no longer pink. Cut patties into thin slices. Stuff into pitas. Add lettuce, tomato, and onion. Serve with tzatziki sauce. Yum.

Muchas gracias (look at me, being bi-lingual) to Tia over at Holding The Future Hostage for submitting her Sopapilla recipe for Stalker Sunday. This girl is hilarious, so go look at her blog :) See? I told you guys it was free advertising.
Sopapillas

1 cup warm water
3 tsp. yeast
4 T. sugar
1 cup milk
2 tsp. salt
4 tsp. baking powder
4 cups flour
Dissolve first 3 ingredients together, add milk, salt, baking powder and flour; mix and knead.  Let stand about 30 minutes.  Roll out, cut, and fry in hot oil.

Join me in Stalker Sunday :)

How to participate? Glad you asked. Even though I mention how to in every other Stalker Sunday post. Short term memory loss, much?
1) Take a picture of food you made off of a blog/website.
2) Send it to me at thespoonatic(at)gmail(dot)com including the name of the concoction you made and the name of the place you got the recipe from.
3) Eat the food you make. Duh?

7 thoughts on “Gyro of the day, saved my life, saved my life.

  1. You’re the bestest, Picco! haha those gyros looks amazing, even though I’ve never had them, or heard of them until now. either way, they look deelish! :D Thanks for the advertisting….haha ;)

    -Tia

    • Awwww thanks ;) Not to toot my own horn, but they were totally amazing. I hadn’t heard of them until this summer. One of these days I’ll get around to making them with lamb, like real gyros. But until then I’m just going to stare at the pictures I took and reminisce on their deliciousness…

      No prob! Thanks for the Sopapilla recipe. I really really want to try it out.

  2. Sorry that I am not able to join you in your Stalker Sunday activity. I have already sent you a picture of the only food that I prepare and that recipe did not come from a blog. Speaking of blogs, I believe that you and the “Hostage” have a lot in common,.

    Now for your current creation. One definition of pyrotechnics is: A brilliant or sensational display of fireworks. A few of your male relatives like to create such. I have created a new word in your honor: Gyrotechnics, which is a brilliant or sensation display of a gyro. Based upon the picture of the giant gyro you have created, I believe that you qualify as a top gyrotechician.

    • That’s ok. I got your picture in the mail the other day and your Saturday morning breakfast of champions looked delicious.

      That’s me. Piccola Italiana, gyrotechician. Kind of like MD, but less impressive…

  3. I. can. not. believe. you. named. this. after. Backin. Up.

    You made my day, piccola picco!!! I love you.

    xoxox,
    Aunt Zizi

Care to comment?

