“You are what you eat.” That’s funny, I don’t remember eating a legend.

But seriously, if you are what you eat then I’m a carbohydrate. One gigantic carb, deep fried and covered in chocolate sauce. Which is why I decided to make Sausage Egg muffins. Which I thought were healthy, until my mom just told me they had lots of fat. Well, bang goes that theory…

You know when you are craving a food that’s totally stupid, but you can’t stop thinking about it? That’s what these sausage egg muffins were doing to me. They’ve been beckoning me ever since I discovered the recipe last night. Yes, I said beckoning. I feel so poetic.

I woke up at 6am this morning to make them. When I got downstairs, my dog gave me a look like “whatchoo doing up so early, lady?” and I looked back like “stay outta my business, dog.” and then I realized I was telepathically speaking to a dog. So I stopped.

Oh and on top of all that, I made these on the always stressful Picture Day. Picture day for all us dorky homeschoolers usually involves 99% of us smiling like Steven from Nacho Libre.

True story.

But back to these muffins. They’re pretty amazing and so easy to make. And believe me when I say that. I always speak the truth about food. If something is easy, I’ll say it’s easy. If something tastes like death, then I’d say it tastes like death. Oh, and thanks to all the people who put up with with me and my strangeness. You guys are the bomb.

You basically make the sausage, cut up the broccoli, whisk the egg stuff, put it in muffin thingies, add cheese. Boom. Instant deliciousness.

I’m pretty sure the roads of heaven are lined with sausage and egg muffin flowers. Or something like that.

Oh and guess what else I got?

FINALLY! It came today. And I’m off to listen to it right now. Weirdly, I passed up on getting the other two CDs I wanted. Especially since on one CD, the singer is a freak and the other one I couldn’t take the singers seriously because of the ridiculous costumes…..And then I found $5. If you end your stories with that, it makes people forget the story was so incredibly boring. Did it work?

Sausage and Egg Muffins

Muchos gracis to Snacking in the Kitchen. The recipe was deeelish :)

Ingredients

1 pound Italian sausage
1 cup broccoli florets
8 large eggs
1/4 cup milk or half and half
1/2 tablespoon vegetable oil
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
salt and pepper to taste
grated cheddar cheese

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 F.

In a large skillet, brown sausage on medium high for about 5 minutes, or until no longer pink. Remove from heat and stir in broccoli.

Whisk together eggs, milk, oil and baking powder. Season with salt and pepper.

Lightly grease a 12-cupcake pan. Spoon out the sausage and broccoli mixture evenly into each cupcake slot..? (is that what it’s called?)

Ladle the egg mixture over sausage and broccoli.

Sprinkle with cheese.

Bake for 15-20 minutes.

Eat.

9 thoughts on ““You are what you eat.” That’s funny, I don’t remember eating a legend.

  1. Congratulations on getting off to a “legendary” start with your “who lost the most weight diet.” I would think that Sausage Egg Muffins (which look more appetizing than the MC ones) would be tastier than Cabbage Soup, but am not sure about their “diet-ary” benefits.

    Am sure you will be happy with your new CD. I saw an ad for a CD yesterday that I thought you might like. During my upcoming visit I might get to show you the website of the artist.

    Nice try with the $5. It got my attention, especially the missing n.

    • I know for a fact that my muffins were better than cabbage soup. I saw the soup and it looks disgusting.

      I can’t wait :)

      Oops. Typo. In my defense, I had a long day yesterday and I was about to fall asleep as I was writing…

  2. hahaha that’s so true about the smiles! I have *no* idea when our picture day is….but I know I don’t like it all that much.

    Those sausage egg muffins looks amazing. haha but fat makes everything taste so much better, so… :D Yesterday I didn’t drain the fat out of our meat for dinner, so it was really greasy, but everyone was like, “wow, this is really good!”. ;) my secret. unhealthy food. haha

    -tia
    xx

  3. Pingback: The 7×7 award, OR why I spend too much time reading other people’s blogs « Spoonlighting

Care to comment?

