If you like it then you should put a pin on it

Have you heard of Pinterest? If you haven’t, stop reading this right now and run while you can. It’s so addicting and you’ll waste hours of your life on it. Not that that’s necessarily a bad thing… Pinterest.com is a photo sharing website, but not like flickr. No siree. The pictures on Pinterest are the most creative, wonderful photos of food, food, people, more food, places, Christian Bale, food, clothes and everything. And food. I especially like the food part. When you come across pictures you like, you can “pin” them to your board or, in my case, boards. I have 15 boards and I’ve pinned almost 300 pictures. Actually, if you’re on Pinterest and you want to follow me, click on the “follow me on Pinterest” button on the right side of this page, right below the picture of The Silver Spoon cookbook. But don’t blame me if you spend your entire life on that website. Just sayin’.

In case you couldn’t tell, one of my favorite parts about Pinterest is the food. I want to make every single piece of food I see pictures of on there. A few days ago I found a picture of cake balls and yesterday I made some.

I’ve got to admit, I sort of live under a rock. I didn’t even know what cake balls were until a few weeks ago. And to take it one lamer step further, I didn’t really know what red velvet cake was either. I had no idea it was so…red.

Seriously, it looks like blood. Blech. But it tastes amazing, so it’s all good.

The first time I had cake balls I was a little confused about why they were a so squishy (for lack of a better word…) in the center. I was thinking it was because they weren’t cooked all the way. Oh was I wrong. They’re squishy because the cake ball part of it is made up of a crumbled up 9X13 cake and an ENTIRE can of frosting. That’s why.


And just when they couldn’t get anymore delicious, you dunk them in chocolate. So basically cake balls are pieces of cake-icing and all-with a shell of chocolate covering them. Where have these been my whole life?

Speaking of food (when am I not talking about food? Wait. Don’t answer that), do you want know what else I made yesterday? A whole plate full of cucumber and dill toasties.

You know what *else* I made yesterday? Part of my Halloween costume. I’m being Holly Golightly from Breakfast at Tiffany’s and I’m making the black dress Audrey Hepburn wears.

Yeah, I impress myself sometimes.

Red Velvet Cake Balls

Thanks to Bakerella for the recipe :)

Ingredients

1 box red velvet cake mix (cook as directed on box for 9X13 cake)
1 can cream cheese frosting (16 oz.)
1 package chocolate bark (regular or white chocolate)
wax paper

1. After cake is cooked and cooled completely, crumble into large bowl.
2. Mix thoroughly with 1 can cream cheese frosting.
3. Roll mixture into quarter size balls and lay on cookie sheet.
4. Chill for several hours in fridge or freezer.
5. Melt chocolate in microwave per directions on package. Melt only a few pieces at a time, because the chocolate cools and thickens quickly and it’s hard to work with.
6. Use a spoon to roll balls in chocolate and lay on wax paper until firm.

 

11 thoughts on “If you like it then you should put a pin on it

  1. Actually, I’ve always thought you looked like Audrey Hepburn. I can’t wait to see your costume, the other dress you made was amazzzzing looking.

    Are you going to make those cake balls for your Halloween party? ;) *hint*

    • Ummm, you’re totally awesome. It’s official. I now dub you my best friend.

      Yeah, I am! But the ones I’m making for the party are going to be red velvet with white chocolate and they’re going to look like eyeballs. Muahhahaha….get excited.

  2. You know, Rach at This Italian Family keeps mentioning Pinterest…but I haven’t checked it out. Sounds awesome. :D

    Cake balls are utterly amazing. They are sooo delish and unfortunately, addicting. :P *wow* that red velvet cake is *really* red. :!: :!: haha

    Sounds like you had quite a productive day yesterday! Good job, twin. I’m *so* proud of you. :D

    -Tia
    xx

    • She’s actually the one who got me addicted! I hadn’t heard about Pinterest until she wrote a post about it…the beginning of the end…

      Yes. Yes they are amazing. Isn’t it?! It was like unearthly red.

      *sniff* Thanks, Tia ;)

    • Mmmmmmm is right :) Next time I make these I’m either going to have to make a 1/2 batch or force people to eat more of them, because I’m pretty sure, with the amount I consumed, I ate almost an entire cake. By myself. Although, I’m not sure if that’s a good or bad thing…

Care to comment?

