How do you say “what up, home skillet” in French?

So, here I am. Watching the baseball game (GO CARDINALS), and realizing I need to sort out my priorities. I mean, I had time Saturday to spend 8 hours with my friend and the two French exchange students staying at her house, but I don’t have time to blog? Pathetic.

In my defense, I enjoy being with two 16 year old French boys much more than I like finding a recipe, getting out all the ingredients for it, cooking, cleaning, and eating. Well, maybe I like eating more. But you can’t ask food how to say “Please stop talking. You’re embarrassing me.” in French. Not that I asked the them. *cough* Cessez s’il vous plaît de parler. Vous m’embarrassez. *cough*  But neither of the boys could speak English very well and since my friend only takes Spanish at school, we had to rely on my 2 years of French and Google Translator to communicate. So we spent the entire afternoon playing baseball and teaching each other random words and phrases. For example, ” fou” means “crazy”. It’s my new favorite word. And do you know how hilarious it is to hear a French guy say “What up, home skillet”? Um, it’s amazing. Sadly, when I tried to teach them Yo Mamma’s So Fat jokes, they got confused and said umm…sorry? Oh well.

I guess food was made here, but I can’t take credit for it. Partially because my younger brother who has wanted to be a chef ever since he was born micromanaged the entire time. But also because I’m laaaaazzzzyyyy. And there is baseball to watch.

So, my brother and sister made gluten free Coffee Cake yesterday using a recipe from my favorite cookbook/book ever, Gluten-Free Baking Classics by Annalise Roberts. Seriously, if someone wants me to sponsor that cookbook, please let me know. This cake is so amazing that the entire thing was gone by this afternoon.

Unfortunately, I live in a house full of people who can’t help themselves from eating food the second it comes out of them oven. For example…

Yeah.

So, who are you cheering for in the World Series? And don’t worry. If you say Rangers, I’ll try not to think you’re totally fou.

Gluten Free Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Adapted from Gluten-Free Baking Classics. Again, I seriously love that cookbook. I demand all Celiacs have a copy in their home. True story.

Ingredients

2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar, divided

1 medium apple
2 cups brown rice flour mixture (2 cups brown rice flour, 2/3 cup potato starch, 1/3 cup tapioca flour)
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon xanthan gum
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs, room temperature
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 cup sour cream, room temperature
1/3 cup canola oil

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Position rack in center of oven. Grease and flour a 9-inch tube pan with a removable bottom with cooking spray.

2. Mix cinnamon and 1/2 cup sugar in a small bowl. Set aside

3. Peel and core apple; finely chop and set aside.

4. Whisk flour, baking powder, baking soda, xanthan gum, and salt together in a small bowl. Set aside. Surprise?

5. Beat eggs in a large bowl until well blended. Add the remaining sugar, 1 teaspoon at a time, and beat until light and creamy. Add vanilla, flour mixture, sour cream and oil. Beat at low speed for 30 seconds. Do not overbeat. (I hate when recipes say do not over overbeat. Like seriously what’s going to happen if I *do* overbeat it? The world’s going to explode?)

6. Evenly spread 1/2 of batter into prepared pan. It won’t seem like you have enough batter for 2 layers, but you do. Top with apple pieces and 1/2 of sugar mixture. Evenly spread remaining batter over the top; top with remaining sugar mixture. It’s very, very thin now but no worries, the cake will be several inches thick when it rises.

7. Place in center of oven and bake about 50 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Don’t open the oven the first 45 minutes of  baking.

8. Cool cake in pan on a rack for 20 minutes. Remove sides of pan and cool completely on rack.

13 thoughts on “How do you say “what up, home skillet” in French?

  1. Pardon my French, but did you tell the cuter French guy, I am fou about you? Sorry about that.

    BTW I think that the Ranger player with an Italian name is an illegal immigrant. I think Napoli should be sent back to his hometown of Naples immediately.

    • No, I didn’t. But I did try to tell him I thought he was cute. And he responded with “I have..errr…how you say…girlfriend back in France.” Hey, I tried.

      Amen :) Their pitcher scares me…the Derek Holland guy? He pitches too well. I think he IS an alien.

  2. Do you know how hard it is to stay on my diet when I read your blog? SO HARD.

    Cessez s’il vous plaît de parler. You’re making me hungry.

    Oh well. I guess I like pain. & French boys oui oui! :)

  3. hahaha! Oh, man. This was the perfect thing to read to start out my day, seriously. I think teaching a French guy to say “What up, home skillet” has to be one of the best ideas EVER.
    Also, I need coffee cake now.

    • It was kind of the most amazing thing I’ve ever done. If I do say so myself :)

      Yes, you do. This coffee cake isn’t my *favorite*, but I still ate almost all of it. Next time I might leave out the apples…sorry, just typing my thoughts here.

  4. haha awesome. that coffee cake looks awesome. kind of reminds me of mine. Except that one is with sour cream, not cream cheese.

    The Cardinals are my state team!! awesome, I’m so glad you’re cheering for them. I don’t really watch sports (ok, so I don’t. we don’t have paid programming on our TV….), so I wouldn’t have any idea about anyone to cheer for them. sry. :/ haha :P

    loved the post! yeah, you’re my twin. :D *insert evil laugh* ;)

    -Tia
    xx

    • Next Sunday I *PROMISE* I’ll put up your pumpkin coffee cake for Stalker Sunday. I’ve been so weirdly busy lately. And I totally spaced on it. But the first excuse makes me sound less ADD….

      Haha :) Yeah, I’m not big on sports but the Cardinals are pretty cool.

      Thanks! :) We’re like totes twins. Actually, I really hate when people say totes. And legit. Yeah, I’m going to stop talking now.

      • haha it’s all good. I figured you’d remember eventually…. ;) *snicker* ;)

        yeah, totes is weird. I actually didn’t know what legit meant and had to look it up. is that weird? but now that I know what it means….yeah it’s….strange. to say the least. :)

        btw, French guys – nice. Italian guys – *much* better. ;) :D

        -Tia
        xx

Care to comment?

