Napoleon, gimmie some of your tots

It’s official. Tater tots are the solution to all of life’s problems.

Overwhelmed with school/work? Eat some tater tots. Annoyed with people who really aren’t even worth your annoyance? Tater tots. Depressed because you know things will never work out between you and Christian Bale? Tots. Although, even if he wasn’t married and a dad, he’s too angsty for me. And I don’t do well with angsty people, in case you wanted to know.

Tater tots also help when you realize that you haven’t finished a book in over 6 months. In my defense, I’ve started many, many books. I just haven’t finished them. Crime & Punishment? Too depressing. Pride & Prejudice? I’m still working on that one… Dracula? *psh* Why bother? I only like books that have an ampersand in their name. Did you know that the “&” thingie is called an ampersand? I didn’t until the other day. Probably because I’m an illiterate loser. But do you know how to fix illiterateness and loserness? Join Goodreads.

I joined it the other day. It’s the 3rd social networking site I’ve joined! Woohoo! Pinterest, Twitter, and now Goodreads. Sadly, after joining them I didn’t attain the “coolness” I had anticipated I would. And really, the only reason I joined twitter is because Pinterest required a twitter account to register. Aaannnddd that’s why I’m not “popular”. That and I also have a bit of an obsession with quotation marks and ampersands as of late. I enjoy punctuation, ok?! Jeez.

But now that I’ve joined Goodreads (is that one word or two? Good Reads? Goodreads? I’m confused), I’ve realized that most of the books that I’ve read and enjoyed are children’s books. With the exception of The Giver and A Tree Grows In Brooklyn, the rest of the books that I rated “5 stars” (see? Who doesn’t love quotation marks?) were classics like If You Give a Mouse a Cookie, The Giving Tree, and Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day. I worry about myself sometimes.

I should probably tell you what all these pictures are of. Or maybe I won’t! BUAHHAHAHAHA. No, I’m joking. They’re all pictures of the Tater Tot Casserole I made yesterday. Meat? Yum. Cheese? Yum. Tater tots? YUM. Broccoli? *awkward silence* Ummm, I’m still learning how to appreciate certain foods. Like broccoli. And onions. And pretty much everything that isn’t deep fried and/or covered in chocolate and/or made with bacon. Ooooh, bacon. Off topic, but I really love bacon.

Oh, and when you realize that Christian Bale isn’t even on Twitter? Eat some tots to numb the pain. Christian “The Love of My Life” Bale isn’t on Twitter, but the dumb Kardashians are? *sigh* It’s a messed up world we live in, people.

Tater Tot Casserole

1 pound ground beef
1/2 of a medium onion, chopped
1 (10.75 ounce) can Campbell’s Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
3 cups frozen Tater Tots

1. Cook beef and onion in a skillet over medium-high heat until beef is no longer pink, stirring to break up meat. Spoon out grease.

2. Stir soup and Worcestershire sauce into skillet. Spoon beef mixture into 12×8-inch shallow baking dish. Cover with tater tots

3. Bake at 425 degrees F for 25 minutes or until potatoes are done.

Forget about Stalker Sunday? I know I did. But luckily Tia didn’t :)

Pumpkin Cream Cheese Coffee Cake

Thanks to Google for letting me steal this picture, because the picture Tia sent me wasn't uploading. True story.

1 1/2 c. sugar
2 eggs
1 1/4 c. canned pumpkin
1/4 c. oil
1 t. vanilla
2 1/4 c. all purpose flour
2 t. ground cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice
1 t. baking soda
1/2 t. salt

Filling:
8 oz. light cream cheese – softened
1 egg
1 T. sugar

Topping:
3/4 c. flaked coconut
1/4 c. chopped pecans – toasted if desired
1/4 c. packed brown sugar
1/4 t. ground cinnamon
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a large mixing bowl, beat sugar, eggs, pumpkin, oil, and vanilla.

Combine flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt; add to egg mixture and mix well.

Pour into a greased 9×13 pan.

In a small mixing bowl, beat cream cheese, egg, and sugar until smooth.  Drop tablespoonfuls over batter; cut through batter with a knife to swirl.

Combine topping ingredients; sprinkle over top.

Bake for 35-40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Cool on a wire rack.

16 servings.

12 thoughts on “Napoleon, gimmie some of your tots

  1. I must be missing something. How did Napoleon ever make it into the title of your latest blog?

    I knew that Christian Bale and I had something in common. Evidently, neither of us is atwitter (excited) about Twitter.

    As for reading material, I recommend a book which might be good for beginning, but never finishing. It is at your family farm (I call it The Country Estate). It has over 1100 pages and was written by a winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature. I hope to read it between Thanksgiving and Christmas.

    BTW I like the looks of the Tater Tots and the rest of the food items. I bet they taste just as good as they look. Keep on cookin!

    BTW A humble person who has some opinions, might be called a common-tater. Ouch!!!

    • “Napoleon, give me some of your tots” is a quote from the dorkiest movie on the planet-Napoleon Dynamite. Which also just so happens to be one of my favorite movies. Explains so much…

      Eh, I’m not really excited about twitter either. Partially because I don’t understand it, but also because I couldn’t care less if people knew what was going on in my life, 24/7.

      I know what book you’re talking about :) I’m having trouble reading the 20 page Plato dialogues. There’s no way I could tackle 1100 pages.

  2. That tater tot casserole looks amazing. seriously. I LOVE tater tots. well, of course I do, since you do as well. :P no duh. ;)

    I’m totally with you on the twitter thing…. um, yeah the world will be very interested in the fact that I had chicken noodle soup for lunch….? and they’ll just be dying for a photo…? haha sarcasm there, in case you didn’t catch it – which I’m sure you did, being my twin and all. :D

    I had no idea the “&” sign even had a name. and now I can’t remember it from your post either. yeah, short term memory loss here. haha but, I’m an author and didn’t know it, so don’t feel bad…. in fact, I’ve never heard that word before. I’m so proud of myself – I just finished a book tonight, that I’ve been working on for about three weeks. I think that’s a personal record, considering I only read it for half an hour (max) at night and it was about 200 pages long. Now I’m gonna start the “Doomsday Book” I got for my birthday. I’m *so* excited. ;)

    btw, thanks for posting my recipe – at last. jk at first I was like…um…that’s not my photo…haha so glad you explained it. I was kind of getting worried there….

    -Tia

    • It tasted even amazinger (amazinger? more amazing…whatever…) than it looked. I love tater tots more :D

      Well, I’d be interested in pictures and a description of your chicken soup. Sort of. But I don’t get why people think that other people actually care about their fake lives. Gahhh. It’s so kookytown.

      Haha, it’s an ampersand! I had no clue it had a name either until my mom was talking about it. I’m so proud of you :) I’m trudging through a few books right now and…it’s not going so well. There’s some goal you can set on goodreads to see how many books you can read in a year. And some people are like 100 books! And I’m like I can read 5… let me know if you like the doomsday book!

      What do you mean “at last”?! Take it back, woman. I’ve been…busy. The picture I found is like your picture on steroids :)

      • ampersand….hmm not sure I’m going to remember that one. lol thanks! wow 100 books is intense. their professional job must be reading books – just sayin’. ;)

        haha I also said jk – which means “just kidding”… ;) ha! it totally is my coffee cake on steroids. that’s the perfecto description.

        -your evil twin

  3. I love tater tots. They are the BEST. And they definitely solve all of life’s problems.
    Also, kids’ books are better because they have pictures. You should read “Stand Back!” Said the Elephant, “I’m going to Sneeze!” It’s intense. (Okay, not really intense. Just hilarious.)
    I love your posts. Despite the fact that they make me crave food late at night. Or maybe because of…

    • Aren’t they? If I were an inanimate object, I’d definitely be a tater tot. That’d be fun…until someone ate me. Awkward?
      Ooohh, that does sound intense! I’ll have to read that, along with rereading There’s a Monster at the End of This Book. It’s the touching tale of Grover and Elmo from Sesame Street trying to avoid the monster at the end of the book. I’m not going to spoil it for you, but there’s a twist ending. *sigh* There’s something wrong with me.
      Aww, thanks :) I love when people appreciate my ramblings. What’s wrong with eating at night? It’s the best time! Then you can turn off the lights and it’s so dark you can’t see how much you’re eating…

      • It’s like the commercial where everyone but Linus (I think it’s Linus…) wants to be an Oscar Meyer Weiner, because those are so good, but Linus doesn’t want to get eaten. :D

        Oh! Yes! I’ve read that one! It made me laugh, and I loved it. There’s nothing wrong with you. or… maybe there’s something wrong with both of us…
        Very true. Only then I have to get up again to brush my teeth before I go to bed, and I hate doing that. (getting up, I mean…)

Care to comment?

