That awkward moment when you blow up Whoville

You know what’s awful? Bad moods. Seriously, they’re horrible. They’re the opposite of thebombdotcom. And the worst part is that there’s really no reason behind my bad mood, which makes me even grumpier. And what’s worse than the worst part is that I’m really not in a writey mood tonight, but I have lots to say. I’ve rewritten this post like 5 times and I’m still not happy with how it’s turning out. So now I’m going to pretend that I’m totally happy, and I’m just going to start incoherently rambling, ok? Ok. Lovely.

I got my hair cut. And it’s the most amazing haircut I’ve ever gotten in my life. IN. MY. LIFE. It’s really, really short (at my jaw…ok that’s short for me.) and it’s longer on one side and I have bangs and *sigh* it’s just generally awesome.

I made a pie. I’m seriously worrying about how the gluten-free crust is going to turn out since I didn’t add the 2 tablespoons of sweet rice flour (shhhh don’t tell anyone) that the recipe told me to add. Actually, it said “make sure to use the sweet rice flour in the crust or else the world will explode and no one will figure out if the hokey pokey is what it’s all about and we won’t find out what happens between Shawn and Juliet on Psych and no one will be in Whoville to cut the roast beast because they’re all dead from the world exploding and it’ll be all your fault.” Ok, I kind of exaggerated some of that, but it really did insist on the sweet rice flour. What is sweet rice flour anyway…? Unfortunately, we’re not going to know how it tastes until we eat it Thursday at my grandma’s. Oh, by the way, I’m going out of town from tomorrow until Saturday. I shall have stories and pictures when I return. Or not. We’ll see.

I went to a restaurant. Yes yes, I left the house. Who’s proud of Picco the Antisocial leaving the house? You are? Please allow me to dub you my new best friend. Anyway, I went to P.W. Pizza conveniently located in St. Louis, Missouri. Ok, it’s only conveniently located if you live in St. Louis. P.W. Pizza is a wonderful place that serves gluten-free pizza. Perfect for those who have Celiac or who have an irrational fear of wheat. For those of you who do have an irrational fear of wheat, please keep that fact to yourself. It’s weird. Would you care to see what I ate at the lovely restaurant? That’s kind of a rhetorical question, because I’m going to show you anyway.

First we have my BLT salad. You heard me right. Bacon, lettuce and tomatoes in a salad topped with bleu cheese crumbles and ranch dressing. Umm hello, yum? I’m going to be recreating this sometime soon. Mainly because it contains bacon. I love bacon.

We also got a gluten-free pizza. You can’t tell it’s gluten-free at all, no lie. My sister with Celiac ordered this and got her personal favorite toppings: sausage and caramelized onions. Again, yum? If the thought of non-wheaty food scares you, no worries, they have plenty of gluten-full stuff on the menu too. If you’re looking for a nicer place to go to dinner, the restaurant upstairs is amazing. It’s called Vin De Set and it’s owned by the same people who own P.W. Pizza, and they also have a gluten-free menu. And they have a rooftop dining area that is beyond fantastic. And when I went there for my birthday, the waiter we had was cute. JUST SAYING…

Now you’re craving bacon and/or pizza, right? I know I am. But I need to skedaddle, because I’m not done packing.

And…umm, am I the only one really depressed about the thought of depriving dead Whos of their roast beast?

Awkward.

19 thoughts on “That awkward moment when you blow up Whoville

  1. totally agree with you on bad moods. and your hair cut sounds *amazing*!!! I need to see it. It sounds awesome. Hey, at the jaw is really short. Except that when I had pixie cuts before, I thought jaw-length hair was long. anyway…. yours sounds awesome.

    That pizza looks soooo yummy! Glad you had a great time, and yes, I am very proud of you for venturing out of the house. Sounds like something I wouldn’t do. ;)

    yours derkishly,
    -Tia

  2. Have I told you lately what an awesome writer you’ve become? Every time I read one of your posts I have a good laugh. Thank
    you for making my day better. Hope the
    piecrust turned out alright. Mimi

    • You have told me but hey, I won’t complain about hearing it again :)

      The pie crust turned out wonderfully. I was really really happy with it…and I see more pumpkin pie in my future. Next time I’ll take pictures :)

  3. Another great blog. Although some portions were above my ken.

    Scary situation: That you do not proofread, monitor or edit your incoming comments (especially mine).

    Very nice to see you and the rest of your family the past few days.

  4. How could I not comment on your posting when you mentioned Whoville?

    Did you know that my original name was Grinchin? And I wouldn’t share that information with just anyone.

    You gotta love those Whos and their perseverance!

Care to comment?

