Please excuse me while I ramble about chocolate and tuxedos…

I made you some food, because I think you’re awesome.

I’m not entirely sure what I made, but all I know is that it’s edible and delicious and I might eat all of it by myself. Om nom nom.

It’s been kind of a weird day today. I was up until 1 this morning, which is wayyy past my bedtime, and I’m a little tired. Why was I up so late, you ask? Why, I was being my social butterfly self and I was par-taying, of course. HA. I wish. Actually, I was at a benefit dinner for my church. In addition to playing violin in the church orchestra during the dinner, I also helped run the coat check, ordered kids in the children’s choir around, ate food (shocker?), and told attractive people that they looked really good in their tuxedos. And by people, I mean one person. And by attractive, I mean really, really attractive. Fact.

So since I’m a bit of a space cadet today, I wanted some coffee. And Kahlua. Because Kahlua is delicious. Did you know that in England you can drink alcohol if you’re over the age of 5?  There’s your random British trivia for the day. You’re welcome.

I’m not entire sure how I found this recipe, or even what it’s supposed to be. Cake? Bread? It tastes a bit like the muffins from Bread Company/Panera Bread. So maybe it’s a bread muffin? Breadin? *sigh* My brain hurts.

Dear Kahlua, why do you taste and smell so awesome? It’s a valid question. Sincerely, Me.

The original recipe said to add dates into the batter. But I knew that couldn’t be right. I mean, who willingly eats dates? So, when it said “dates”, I assumed it was just a typo and that it actually meant to say “chocolate chips.” Because next to bacon and Dr. Pepper, chocolate is God’s gift to this earth. I love chocolate. Which is why I will eat all of this bread stuff by myself.

And now I’m just awkwardly sitting here, eating my breadin and thinking that if I were a dude, I’d totally wear a tuxedo all the time. I really need to go to bed.

Chocolate Kahlua Bread

Adapted from here

1/4 cup softened butter (1/2 stick)
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup hot brewed coffee
3 tablespoons Kahlua
1 egg
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1-1/2 cups white flour
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar. Then add the coffee, Kahlua, and egg.  Mix until well combined.

In a separate bowl, combine the cinnamon, baking power, baking soda and flour.  Slowly add the flour mixture to the Kahlua mixture of deliciousness. Gently stir in the chocolate chips.

Grease an 8 x 8 or 9×9 pan. Pour the batter into the pan. Bake for 25-28 minutes, checking after about 25. The cake/bread/whatever is done when a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Join me in Stalker Sunday :)

How to participate? Glad you asked. Even though I mention how to in every other Stalker Sunday post. Short term memory loss, much?
1) Take a picture of food you made off of a blog/website.
2) Send it to me at thespoonatic(at)gmail(dot)com including the name of the concoction you made and the name of the place you got the recipe from.
3) Eat the food you make. Duh?

8 thoughts on “Please excuse me while I ramble about chocolate and tuxedos…

  1. I have a feeling that your being tired contributed to a somewhat meandering and very interesting blog.

    As the saying goes: Clothes make the man—or in this case the boy!!!

    Good luck!

  2. I hope the dinner went well and was at least somewhat fun! :) That breadin looks good. I can totally understand your un-brain ness today. if that makes any sense at all. haha lately, around 7:30 pm, I like instantly become brain-dead. which is sad because 7:30 is a lame time to get tired at. But it comes around and all I can think of is sleep. :-/

    -Tia

    • The dinner was a lot of fun. Totally hectic, but fun :) Of *course* it’s good. I mean, anything with coffee is good, right?

      Umm, I’m lame right with you. It’s 8:30 and I’m about ready to pass out…

  3. You’re being a little, how does one say, obvious!!!!

    And, hey, you weren’t even wearing a tuxedo and looked good. ;)

Care to comment?

