Breakfast at Tiffany’s. In the non-smoking area, please.

Have you ever done those spot the difference things at the end of Parade Magazine? They’re pretty fun, but every now and then they’re too hard and I just give up. Because I’m a bit of a quitter sometimes. Well, right now I have a spot the difference for you. And, no worries, this one is easy. There’s only one difference between the two pictures.

This first picture is of the always classy and fabulous, Audrey Hepburn. This is my favorite picture of her, and probably one of my favorite pictures in the world.

Ready for the second one? Here’s a picture of the cover of the Audrey Hepburn 2012 calender my mom bought me today.

In the words of Kip from Napoleon Dynamite, “I’m just getting really… just kinda TO’d because… I mean they PHOTOSHOPPED THE CIGARETTE FROM THE PICTURE.” Ok, maybe I added that last part.

All I have to say to the PC people over at Graphique who made this calendar is you know what’s gonna happen to you? I am gonna march you over to the zoo and feed you to the yak. You probably don’t even know what that’s from, since you obviously haven’t seen Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

Oh yeah, and you fell victim to the second most classic blunder – the most famous of which is never fight a land war in Asia –  but only slightly less well-known is this: never go against a Sicilian when death is on the line! *insert diabolical laughter* Seriously, death is on the line big time. And 3 of my great-great-grandparents emigrated from Sicily.

12 thoughts on “Breakfast at Tiffany’s. In the non-smoking area, please.

  1. Oh man, I didn’t even notice that! I got the same calendar! Now I’m annoyed, too. It’s kind of silly that they’d photoshop it out of the picture. Seriously, I mean there’s no reason for it!

  2. How times have changed!!! You were really COOKIN in your latest blog, without any reference to food. You are really something when you become angrified. Wonder where your fourth (maybe a peace loving and law abiding one) great-grandparent immigrated from?

  3. Wahhhh??? What exactly do they think she is doing with her hand? Waiting for a tip or something? BLAH!

    I had an Audrey Hepburn calendar last year. It was pretty awesome, unfortunately I couldn’t find an acceptable replacement one, so I chose a calendar with pictures of Italy :)

    • Haha, that’s what I said! What’s so annoying is that the cover picture is the same as the picture for January. I’m going tape a picture of a pack of marlboros to the January photo or something… ;)

      Eh, Italy, Audrey. Same diff. They’re both pretty awesome, if I do say so myself.

  4. I LOVE that line from the Princess Bride! Nice use of it, twin. ;) Much more creative than I probably would’ve ever thought of.

    Yeah when I saw that second picture I was like….”say what?! the cigarette is gone!!” not that I’m a supporter of cigarettes, but it just kind of looks weird without it.

    anyway…nice calendar. I’m sure it’s awesome. :D

    -Tia

    • Thanks :) I figured you’d appreciate it.

      I’m not a supporter either, but hey, it’s an iconic picture. And as my dad said, it’s scary how people are so nonchalant about rewriting history…

  5. Finally someone said it!!!! I’ve been raging about this because the only copies of this photo I can get my hands on have the cigarette taken out of it… BUT IT’S THE MOST ICONIC PART OF THE PICTURE (besides Audrey of course). (Also my great grandparents came to the states from Sicily. Small world) (and I do realize this post is like 5 years old, yet here I am)

Care to comment?

