I promise this post has nothing to do with England. At all. Nope.

I like to pretend I’m spontaneous. I also like to pretend I’m British, but that’s a different story. But not really, because every single one of my stories can turn into something about England. For example, last night I watched Rise of the Planet of the Apes (great movie, by the way) with JJR and The Brit. The British actor Tom Felton was in it, and they made him use an American accent in the film. Yes, you heard me right. He threw away his gorgeous British accent and used a dumb I-have-a-beautiful-British-accent-but-now-I’m-going-to-pretend-I’m-American-so-I’ll-make-sure-to-sound-super-nasily-and-Brooklynish/Southernish accent. There’s nothing worse than a non-American trying to sound American. It sort of sounded like malted barley. Speaking of, the first time you force a British person to say malted barley, everyone, including the person saying it, thinks it’s hilarious. But after that first time, said Brit doesn’t think it’s funny anymore. Which is weird, since I think it’s totally amazing. It’s almost as weird as the other day when my little sister put a tiara on her head and proclaimed that she was “Queen of Abuela Land.” Oh, and my dog got a bacon scented chew toy today. Needless to say, I’m beyond jealous. Wait, what….? It’s official. My train of thought has derailed. There are no survivors. I really need to get a life…

Anyway, back to being spontaneous. I enjoy being spontaneous. Like today, I was quite spontaneous when I chose pink rubber bands for my braces. And as someone who hasn’t worn pink in many, many years, this was definitely a spontaneous choice…thing. That, and I always get so flustered when I have to pick out rubber bands. You understand. I also enjoy being spur of the moment when it comes to food. Earlier this afternoon, I had 8 chicken thighs defrosting in the microwave and not the foggiest idea in my head of what to make for dinner. Then, BOOM, this random recipe showed up. I have no clue how I found it (that seems to be the case for a lot of the food I make, huh?) but it sounded good. Basically you put garlic pepper on both sides of chicken, dump some brown sugar on it, and bake it for an hour? Easy. And yumtastic.

Oh, you want me to stop talking and you’d like to see some pictures? Well here you go.

First off, let me  say just how hard it is to take pictures of food while it’s in the oven. If you forget to take pictures of the prep (not that I did or anything…yeah…), you are forced to open the oven, let the 350 degree air singe your face off, just so you can try (and fail) to take a picture. Oh yeah, and all while your dog is sniffing your hair. Awkward.

And that black icky looking stuff? Burnt brown sugar. Delicious. If you make this and get bored in between taking the chicken from the oven and eating it, feel free to eat the burnt brown sugar. Straight out of the oven, it’s pretty amazing.

Oh yeah, and in case you couldn’t tell, the title is a total lie. Kind of like how I said that this blog would be about me cooking my way through the Silver Spoon. Lies all around.

Brown Sugar Chicken Thighs

Adapted from some random website. So let’s just say it was pretty much made up by me, ok?

8 skinless chicken thighs
1 tablespoon garlic pepper
8 tablespoons brown sugar

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Cover a cookie sheet with Ryan Reynolds wrap/aluminum foil and spray it with cooking spray. Sprinkle both sides of the thighs with garlic pepper. Then sprinkle 1 tablespoon brown sugar on top of each thigh. Bake at 350 for an hour. The end

5 thoughts on “I promise this post has nothing to do with England. At all. Nope.

  1. Promises, promises—your promises are not worth the computer they are written on.

    Now I am going to have to check out Rise of the Planet of the Apes to see who JJR (Not JR) might be.

    Next time I see you, I look forward to listening to your British accent!!!

    • Actually, I was watching it with some friends of ours- JJR and The Brit. Two pretty cool people, if I may say so.

      Ummm, yeah, I don’t see that happening since sometimes my words are barely understandable with an American accent… ;)

  2. haha British people are so funny. and it’s interesting, because you seriously are Italian and long to be British…and I’m seriously of German-heritage and long to be Italian – though I still *LOVE* British people. they’re my happy thoughts. ;)

    I’m so digging your pink rubber bands. did you know that my all-time forever color is hot pink? add black, and I’m gonna to be your best friend. wait, I already am. hmmm…. anyway pink and black = amazingness. :D

    -Tia

Care to comment?

