When I’m not thinking about food, I worry about myself sometimes

I need a cookie. Mainly because these are pretty much the most fantastic cookies on the planet. But also because there’s something seriously wrong with me.

Right now it’s 5:48am. Why am I up at this awful hour? A few minutes ago I woke up for no reason, thought my hair that was in front of my eyes was a spider, and then proceeded to whack myself in the head repeatedly to get it off. Now I’m wide awake. Also, last night when I was making these cookies I forgot to add an entire stick of butter. AND the other night when I was at the childcare place I volunteer at, one of the other volunteers asked me if I thought one of the kids was having an allergic reaction. My first thought was, oh no. A human being is trying to communicate with me. Wait, this doesn’t happen a lot! NOOO! What should I do?! Be cool be cool be cool… So in my true awkward fashion I said something like, “Nah, he always looks sick ever since the first day he got here he hasn’t done looked right and he’s not having an allergic reaction at least I don’t think I mean, I’m no doctor but I think since the first day he got here he’s looked really sick so he’s fine so what do you think…?” I didn’t stop talking for a good 30 seconds and seriously said “hasn’t done looked right.” What does that even mean? Exactly. I can see why people love me so much.

So when you’re having a less-than-good day/week/life, it’s nice to open your kitchen cabinet and find this:

I mean, what’s greater than finding peanut butter chips in your kitchen? Well, maybe finding Joseph Gordon-Levitt in your kitchen… But, even for me, that borderlines on creepy. Emphasis on borderlines. That doesn’t mean I wouldn’t object to it. Just saying.

These cookies also help ease the pain of knowing you’re going to be missing Downton Abbey next Sunday night because of the Superbowl. Let’s play a game called Things Teenage Girls Don’t Care About. I’ll go first. The Superbowl, The Superbowl, and The Superbowl. Ok, I can’t think of anything else. It’s still 5am, people. Luckily I’m going to a Superbowl party at my friend’s house and she’s pretty cool, so I won’t be too sad. I hope? I guess I could also throw in I don’t care about the Liverpool football team. Apparently they beat Manchester United the other day 2-1 and I should hate them for it. And I know this via Damian McGinty’s twitter. Even though technically someone I know likes Liverpool and I might have at least one thing to talk to them about if I liked the team too, Damian told me to like Man United. And Damian speaks the truth. Pretty much.

My head still really hurts. Yeah, I’m so cool.

Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies

Adapted from Allrecipes, but I made it more awesome by adding chocolate chips. Yum.

1 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cups white sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup peanut butter chips
1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease cookie sheets.

In a medium bowl, cream together the butter and sugar. 1 cup of butter = 2 sticks. Don’t forget it. Stir in the eggs and vanilla. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt, and stir into the creamed mixture. Finally, fold in the peanut butter chips and chocolate chips. Drop cookies by heaping teaspoonfuls onto the prepared cookie sheets. Flatten slightly.

Bake for 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, until set. Cool on wire racks. Or eat them straight off the cookie sheets. Not that I did that…*ehem*

18 thoughts on “When I’m not thinking about food, I worry about myself sometimes

  1. WOW!!! What a surprisingly sporting blog from Picco. She goes on and on about the two types of football worldwide.

    BTW 5am (or 6am in some households) is often the best time of the day, because it is sooo quiet. It is a good time to think about things and—maybe even create a blog.

  2. hahaha I’ve *totally* thought my hair was a spider before, thus proceeding to smack myself. :P it’s the pits, isn’t it?

    those cookies look great! especially the peanut butter chips part. yum! Girl – get some sleep. now. Got it? good. ;)

    your derk

  3. Oh my merry hobbits!! You learn things about the world from Damian McGinty’s twitter, too?? Will the similarities between us never end!? I only care about the Superbowl a little bit because I have friends who make a big deal of it. I hang out at their house and we drink stuff that’s bad for you (soda, mostly) and eat bowls and bowls of chips and pretend to know exactly what’s going on as we cheer and boo at the screen. Then we make fun of commercials. Last year I fell asleep, though. I worked a lot that week. But no amount of Superbowl fun makes up for postponing Downton Abbey!!!

    But honestly, I don’t think I know any other person that’s even HEARD of Damian, let alone Twitter-stalks him like me. :D

    • If it weren’t for Damian’s twitter, I would know nothing about the tv show Alcatraz, Andy Murry, or the Man U/Pool rivalry. So basically, I’d be so uncultured. I think we might be separated at birth…and we’re actually supposed to be British. I’m going to spend my Sunday eating and crying into my chips, missing Downton. Although I don’t know if I’ve recovered yet from last Sunday’s episode… :(

      I was a Damo McG fangirl/stalker before it was cool. I’ve seen him twice in concert with Celtic Thunder and he’s pretty dang amazing.

  4. I am so happy to learn that I’m not the only one who would be happy to find Joseph Gordon-Levitt in their kitchen.
    Except…maybe that might be a little stalkerish and I might be somewhat freaked out for a second.

    Also I want one of those cookies.
    Thanks.

    • Oh, I’d definitely be freaked out too. But that freaked-out-ness would turn into love and admiration and then he and I would get married and live happily ever after. And when people ask us how we met, we’d have the best story. “So, I was hiding in her kitchen cupboard…”

      • And then he’d go on to explain he was only there because he wanted one of your cookies and when you saw him you ninjaed him and gagged him and tied him up and drugged him and forced a pastor to marry you two.
        Such a romantic love story, People would probably hear it and then very quickly walk away.

Care to comment?

