Chicken pot chicken pot chicken pot pie

It finally snowed. I’m happy.

I got a valentine. I’m beyond happy.

Yes, I had to pay for it, but it’s the first non-manditory valentine I think I’ve ever gotten. The band Sunderland (which I saw when they opened for Honor Society) had a Valentine’s Day package. I sent them $25 (which was also pretty much my life savings. I’m broke.), and they sent me a valentine, a CD which had their new song, a video, and some pictures of the band on it, a rubber bracelet thing, and candy. Um, I love them. And it was totally worth every penny, especially since I forgot that I had sent money and my mom was like “Um, who is Sunderland and why did they send you a package?” Happy days. That being said, feel free to send me a valentine. It’s not too late. I’m still accepting secret admirer valentines and/or chocolate until…forever. Hint hint.

As Cousin Violet said on the episode of Downton Abbey last night, “All this unbridled joy has given me such an appetite.” Luckily, I made food.

Yesterday, I made chicken pot pie. I’m pretty sure I could live off this stuff.

Today I made lime cilantro chicken. For someone who really doesn’t like chicken at all, I’ve sure made it a lot lately. And there’s still a package of chicken in the fridge that I need to make tomorrow. Oh joy.

Two things. One, I love cilantro. I could eat it by the pound. I think. Second, can we please discuss last night’s Downton Abbey? It was two intense hours of walking paraplegics, eloping Irish chauffeurs, and more Mr. Bates+Anna drama than any of us cared about. Who was scared of Thomas’ temper tantrum? Who wants to make fun of me because in those two hours I went from hating Matthew to thinking he’s the coolest thing since Mr. T? Although Thomas still wins the intense stare contest against Matthew. I spent much of the episode texting my friend Marie who was also watching it. For those of you who doubt my sanity, here’s some of the conversation that proves you right:

Marie: BALLKOBNJIEWOWLFJIFFJ!!!!!!
Me: OH THE DRAMA
Marie: I KNOW!!! DRAMA. MATTHEW AND MARY. CAPSLOCK.
Me: I. Love. Matthew.
Marie: Uh whatever, he’s mine.
Me: whatdaheck?!
Marie: NO YOU MAY NOT KISS HIM FOO.

And it went on for pretty much the entire episode. It was pretty intense.

Please meet my new best friend, the cast iron skillet. I’m going to grill everything on it from now on. Bacon, chocolate,  the new Mrs. Anna Bates… Come on, you know she’s kind of boring you too.

I guess I should talk about the food a bit. Um, this is raw chicken.

This is delicious cooked chicken with cool grill marks on it. Any questions?

Oh, and I totally loved Branson and Thomas and Sybil last night. End of story. I’ll stop talking about Downton now.

Cilantro-Lime Chicken with Avocado Salsa*

*If the avocados your mom picked up from the store were so unripe that they could double as a weapon, you’ll have to leave out the avocado part like I did…

Chicken

2 tablespoons minced fresh cilantro
2 1/2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
4 (6-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
1/4 teaspoon salt
Cooking spray

Salsa

1 cup chopped plum tomato (about 2)
2 teaspoons fresh lime juice
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 avocado, peeled and finely chopped

Combine the cilantro, lime juice, olive oil, and chicken in a large bowl. Mix and stick in the fridge for an hour. Remove chicken from marinade and throw out the marinade. Sprinkle chicken evenly with 1/4 teaspoon salt. Heat an awesome grill pan over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add chicken to pan and cook 6 minutes on each side or until done. Dodge the oil splatters so you don’t get 3rd degree burns like I almost did. *ehem*

For the salsa, combine the tomato, lime juice, salt, and pepper in a bowl. Add avocado, and stir gently. Serve over chicken. I also served it with Mexican rice and it was delicious. And don’t worry, I can read Mexican.

8 thoughts on “Chicken pot chicken pot chicken pot pie

  1. Marie: I KNOW!!! DRAMA. MATTHEW AND MARY. CAPSLOCK.
    Me: I. Love. Matthew.

    This post made me so happy!! I WOULD HUG YOU RIGHT NOW!!! :D :D :D I’m not even at all smug about your turn to the Matthew lover’s side. I’m just happy you’re with us.

    So what changed your mind? It’s been too long since I’ve watched all of Season 2. I keep going back to one particular scene in the Christmas Special *coughs*Justyouwait,missy*coughs* so I don’t remember what was going on the rest of the time. :P

    • Heehee. I’m happy that you’re happy :)

      What changed my mind? I think now that William is out of the picture (sad face) someone had to take his place on my list of fictional British men I want to marry. And Matthew is pretty much the coolest person alive. I think I just had to get used to him. And now that he’s single…well, for now. Come on, I know he and Mary get together. Duh?

      I can’t wait for the Christmas episode. No literally, I can’t wait. I might go completely mental with all this waiting. THE SUSPENSE IS KILLING ME! *dies* Whoops, I’m dead. Well. This is awkward.

  2. Picco,

    HAPPY VALENTINES DAY!!!

    So nice that you are happy with the arrival of the white stuff and with arrival of the Valentine package, complete with autographs. Now I have to perform some research to find out more about the band Sunderland.

    I did not get to watch the latest DA episode, but I get the drift that my Sybil has gone off and tied the knot. Hope I am wrong.

    You like chikin, I like chikin, we all like chikin too.

  3. Hahahhaa…I’m laughing so hard there are tears in my eyes ;) Sunderlannnnd! I <3 the cool-colored-guitar-guy.

    DOWNTON!

    That is all.

    I feel like my comments are really inspired.

    • DOOOOWWWNNNNNTTTOOONNNN!

      I love your comments. Tres inspired. I was looking over the texts from Sunday and for most of them I’m like, what was I on…? They’re all about Branson and gross Bates with an occasional I love Matthew. They make me sound so fangirlish. But nothing wrong with that, right?

Care to comment?

