This bread is bananas, B-A-N-A-N-A-S

The only problem with being on a diet is, well, being on a diet. Especially being on Atkins. On what planet is this food?

Exactly.

I’m not sure what made me come up with the brilliant idea to go on Atkins for Lent, but I’m on it. Woohoo. Actually, it’s going much better than I imagined. That translates into I’m not complaining as much as I imagined. Although anyone who reads this blog knows that I never complain. Ever. Actually, back in the day, people used to call me Picco, The Girl Who Never Complains And Is Totally the Coolest Person Ever And Who Also Makes the Best Banana Bread On The Planet. It was kind of a long nickname, so you can see why it was shortened to just Picco.

If you have bananas sitting on your counter that look like these

it’s time to make some banana bread, yo.

I’ve been wanting to make banana bread ever since I saw this recipe. Banana bread french toast. Um, YUM? I’ve really been bugging people about it too, and I realized that pretty much every other sentence out of my mouth is “I want to make banana bread french toast.” Unfortunately, I found the recipe too late and I’m going to have to wait another 36 days until I can eat it. Not that I have an app on my phone that counts down until the end of Lent which also doubles as a countdown until I can make banana bread french toast. It’s just like how I don’t complain and I don’t have a total obsession with Christian Bale. Yeah.

I made this gluten-free and no one in my family could taste any difference from when I make it with normal flour. Thank you magical brown rice flour mixture I use so often. I just wish I could eat it. I couldn’t even eat any of the creamed butter and sugar… if that’s not depressing, I don’t know what is. As my little brother said to me tonight while I was eating my steamed broccoli and fish, “Hey, know what the difference is between us? I can eat high-carb foods!” Hmmm.

If you are unfortunate enough to have given up desserts for Lent, lucky for you, you can totally eat this banana bread with no guilt. I mean, it’s bananas (healthy) and bread (last time I checked, totally not something I eat for dessert). And if you were dumb enough to go on Atkins for Lent, then I’m sorry, but you can’t have any of this. Go back to crying over your six cups of loosely packed lettuce and one ounce of cheese.

Banana Bread

8 tablespoons (1 stick) butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 cup all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup whole wheat flour (I usually leave out the whole wheat flour and just use 2 cups of regular or gluten-free flour, but I’m sure it’s “healthier” with the whole wheat stuff…)
3 over-ripe bananas, mashed
1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease a 9x5x3″ bread pan. Get excited because this banana bread is going to be so dang good.

In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy, and then resist the urge to eat all of it. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.

In a separate bowl, combine flours, baking soda, and salt together, and add to the butter/sugar mixture, mixing well.

Fold in bananas and vanilla.

Pour mixture into bread pan, and bake for 50-60 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean. Cool in pan for 10 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack. Although if it lasts 10 minutes after it’s done cooking, I’d be impressed.

5 thoughts on “This bread is bananas, B-A-N-A-N-A-S

  1. Going on a diet??? Yes, I think you are going BANANAS!!!

    However, glad to hear that you are only somewhat obsessed with Chris (we are friends) Bale.

  2. I just really don’t understand why you are trying to kill yourself by doing some diet that includes Atkins or any other “health” food. I swear, their weight loss strategy is simply making you eat crap so you puke it all up and in the end you lose weight because, you know, you aren’t actually consuming anything.

      • Oh well that works. I don’t get why you’re eating that instead of just, yap know, eating some peas or something. Peas are good.
        I can relate though. I don’t like fruit, except strawberries, raspberries, and blackberries. And since those aren’t always around, nor are cheap when they are, we don’t get them often.
        So I eat fruit, like, twice a year. My moms like “KAIT you’re going to get SCURVY.”

Care to comment?

