Off to compete in the Hunger Games? Have an energy bar. Oh, and good luck surviving.

I’m going to run a 5K. No seriously, a 5K. Me=running 3.1 miles. I know, it still hasn’t sunk in yet for me either. I’ve wanted to do one for a while now, but have been too lazy to sign up. And if I’m too lazy to even sign up, you know I have serious problems. Last week, in a strange bout of confidence, I signed up for a 5K in June. So now I’m doing the couch to 5K program. All I’m going to say is I’m on day 2 and earlier today I jogged (JOGGED) for 3 minutes before my lungs almost collapsed. Have I mentioned I’m the least athletic person ever?

In happier news, I saw the Hunger Games movie yesterday on opening day. Can I just say BEST. MOVIE. EVER. That’s a big compliment coming from me, seeing as I have very high standards for movies. Which is why I love Newsies, Finding Neverland, and Disney’s Robin Hood. Yeah. Anyway. Hunger Games was wayyyy better than I expected it to be. Not as bloody and gory as the books (maybe that’s a good thing?), but it was supermegaultra awesome. I’m definitely going to see it again in theaters because there’s no way I can wait until it comes out on DVD. I have patience issues. The whole time I was watching the movie all I could think about is how, if I had to compete in the games, I would die instantly. Prime example is not being able to jog for more than 7 1/2 seconds. And, last time I checked, my knife throwing and dodging-a-bunch-of-16-year-old-murderers skills aren’t quite up to par anymore. All of which are points against me.

Staying in the Hunger Games mood, I decided to make these energy/granola/fake Clif bars. I’m sure Katniss could have used a few of these when she was, you know, on the verge of death and stuff. I’m not one to brag about how delicious my food is, but wow these are good. The original recipe called for Rice Krispies, but since we didn’t have any, I used Honey Nut Cheerios instead. Mainly because Honey Nut Cheerios are the most delicious cereal ever. Yum. I could eat that stuff all day. When I die, please put a box of them in the coffin with me. Um yeah, that’s not weird…

Peanut Butter Pretzel Granola Bars

Adapted slightly from How Sweet It Is. I love that lady.

makes one 9 x 13 pan

1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
1 cup Rice Krispies (or Honey Nut Cheerios. Those are just as delicious)
1 cup crushed salted pretzels
1/4 cup ground flaxseed
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup whole wheat flour (We were out of whole wheat, so I just used regular flour and they turned out fine. It didn’t cause me to grow a 3rd arm or anything…)
1/2 cup chopped dry roasted peanuts (I left these out because peanuts are gross. And, again, leaving them out didn’t cause any disastrous results. Phew.)
2/3 cup creamy peanut butter
3 tablespoons butter, melted
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/3 cup + 1 tablespoon honey
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a bowl, combine oats, Rice Krispies, pretzels, flaxseed, brown sugar, flour, and peanuts, and stir to combine. Add in the peanut butter, and mix with a spoon to break it up and create a “dough.” Mix it as much as you can for about 5 minutes. Try not to eat the mixture, which is going to be hard since it looks so good. Combine melted butter with vanilla extract and add to dough, then mix. Add in honey and stir to moisten completely. Fold in chocolate chips.

Spray a 9 x 13 inch baking dish with non-stick spray and press the dough into the pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the top is golden brown. Remove and let cool completely before cutting – there may be minimal crumbling, but they should hold together completely. If they are starting to fall apart, stick them in the fridge to chill for a few minutes and try again. Eat 1 or 2 while they’re still warm. Or the whole pan. I’ve heard it both ways.

25 thoughts on “Off to compete in the Hunger Games? Have an energy bar. Oh, and good luck surviving.

  1. Um, can I just say that jogging for 3 minutes is like 3 times better than me?? I’m soooo out of shape, it’s not even funny. However, we just got Wii Fit, so hopefully that’ll change soon as I torture myself in front of a TV. ha!

    I haven’t seen the Hunger Games yet…and I’m not sure my dad would like me too. He’s said that it’s really violent…. hmm, anyway I’m glad you loved it – I’m hearing about it EVERYWHERE. even at Bible study. That author must be pretty rich by now. XD

    -Tia

    • Ooooh, Wii fit. We got that for Christmas a few years ago. The first couple of days we had it I was like, “WOOHOO! I’m going to do this everyday and get super fit!” That stopped after about a week. And I’m pretty sure I haven’t done it in over 6 months… ;)

      Yeah, I can see how your dad wouldn’t like it. When I asked my mom if she could drop me off at the movie theater and I was explaining to her what the movie was about, she looked at me like you want to watch this…why? But it really wasn’t as violent as I thought it was gonna be. I thought Sherlock Holmes was way worse, if you’ve seen that. So if you *can* see Hunger Games, I strongly recommend it :)

      • haha well I’m hoping that my interest in Wii Fit doesn’t fade, because I really really want to get in shape, and I’m not disciplined enough to do it any other way. ;) I’m sure you’ll rock that 5k!

        -Tia

  2. I started doing the Couch to 5k program a while ago, and the first two (ish) weeks were TORTURE. But then I finally started to get into the swing of it, and I started loving it. And that’s saying a lot, because I hate exercise. Mostly because my lungs generally refuse to work properly, my muscles start threatening to seize up, and I get sweaty enough to start dripping (I know. It’s a beautiful picture, isn’t it?)
    But I promise, if you stick with the program, things do get better! It really helps if you have a treadmill and a TV. Or a gym. Gyms are interesting places. Anything to keep you on track, because after about two weeks it starts to get easier, and sometimes it’s almost fun! :D
    I need to see the Hunger Games. Also, I need to make these bars. They look delicious!

    • Story of my life. I didn’t know it was humanly possible to be as out of shape as I am… But seriously, thanks for the words of encouragement! I’m excited to run the 5K, even if I finish last :) Gyms are great. My dad and I, a while back, would go to the gym at 6am almost every day. The only good part of it was I could watch Saved By the Bell and Fresh Prince of Bel Air while attempting to run on the treadmill. Classic.

      You DO need to see Hunger Games. My favorite part of it was when Liam Hemsworth was only shown for like 30 seconds during the entire movie. That dude bothers me…

  3. Good for you on the 5k! My hubby did couch to 5 k–he thought it was a pretty good program, and he is not a runner! Thanks for the movie review–the boys are convinced it can’t be as good as the book! (but that won’t stop them from seeing it!)

    • Thank you! I’m excited to do it :)

      It’s definitely as good as the book, but it’s as close as a movie adaptation can get. Actually, I thought that some parts were better. Crazy, right?

  4. Why would they bring out the movie Hunger Games during Lent, when some people have given up eating certain foods? I will exercise great patience and wait until the flick comes out on DVD and my library has it available for a free checkout.

  5. Mmmmmm the bars sound great. How long do they keep? Going on a vacation the end of May with lots of hiking….Guess I should check out the couch to 5K to get me in shape for the trip.
    Love your blog!

    • Honestly, I have no clue how long the bars will keep. I’ve kept mine loosely covered for the past two days and they’re still ok. I’m guessing 3-4 days loosely covered…? Although at the rate I’m eating them, I’m not sure they’ll be around another few days to know for sure how long they’ll stay fresh.

      Thanks! :)

    • If you want to make them now and keep them for May, just stick them in the freezer. I always store cookies and cakes in the freezer, and they’re fine when I pull them out three months later or so.

    • I doubt leaving out the flaxseed will make any difference other than you won’t have to pick the flaxseed out of you teeth afterwards. Great mental picture, I know. I think they’re just in there to make in “healthy.” But I really wouldn’t increase any of the other ingredients, especially the chocolate chips. I never thought I’d say this, but I used 3/4 cup of them and I thought it was too chocolatey and took away from the other flavors. Oh no, I’m saying bad things about chocolate :( What’s wrong with me?!

  6. “May the odds be ever in your favor!”

    It was such a good movie! But I thought it was pretty darn violent. If I were in it, I’d hope you be a good sponsor and send me some of these bars. :)

    • THAT IS MAHOGANY!

      Oh, pish posh, it was fine. Am I the only one who didn’t have a problem with the violence? I was talking to Brooklyn Scott after church about the movie and he’s like, “Um, it sounds awful. I think you just have a freaky love of violence.” Maybe I am crazy…

      • Manners!!

        Pish posh? I think you’ve immersed yourself way too much into all things British. ;)

        Haha Scott! There were so many times I literally covered my eyes (yes – like a five year old).

        • Is there such thing as too much all things British…?

          Psh, Scott… Um, now I’m feeling weird that the only part I was even kinda scared of was when the mutt attacked Peeta at the end. And here you are covering your eyes. Yeah, I am weird.

    • It was pretty good :) Not as great as the book, but it was close. I’m hoping they do a good job with the 2nd and 3rd movies because Catching Fire and Mockingjay were awful books… kinda a letdown compared to how awesome Hunger Games was. Have you read the series?

      • Oh my goodness! Finally someone who agrees with me that #2 and #3 were lame.
        I enjoyed them, but not nearly as much as the first one. Katniss honestly is my least favorite character because the whole time in the second two I’m mad at her for being a jerk to Peeta. AND unfair to Gale. Even though I really liked Peeta more. She still was mean to both of them because she’s so flip floppy. I’m seriously tired of all this “Team so-and-so VS. Team so-and-so”. Too much like Twilight(which I am NOT a fan of, for the record). Let’s get back to the better stories where you don’t spend the whole time mad at the main character for being a jerk because she’s having to choose between two guys.

        I know that I am going to be even more mad at Katniss in the Catching Fire and Mockingjay movies because I really like Josh Hutcherson as an actor and he pulled off Peeta perfectly(I went and saw the movie last night) and made me like his character even more.
        It’s going to be really bad.

        Haymitch is my favorite though and he’s awesome so I guess we’re good.
        Ish.

Care to comment?

