When the asparagus hits your eye like a big pizza pie. That’s…painful.

What’s the weirdest thing you did yesterday? I shaved asparagus. That automatically trumps any weirdness in your day. I win.

I don’t like vegetables. I like Oxford commas, I like 40’s jazz, I like Chuck Taylor high tops, hey, I even like Matthew from Downton Abbey (when he’s not being annoying). But I really hate vegetables. Well, with the exception of zucchini and…uhh, that’s it… zucchuni is good. I pretty much have to trick myself into eating any veggies. What’s wrong with me? Besides the fact that yesterday I Googled “How can you tell if potatoes are ripe?” and then realized…duh.

I was browsing Annie’s Eats earlier this week and saw her recipe for Shaved Asparagus Pizza. Oh and when I say browsing, I was pretty much shaking my laptop and screaming WHY MUST ALL HER FOOD LOOK SO DELICIOUS?! I mean moorish. I’m trying to incorporate some British slang into my vocabulary to make me sound more mysterious, mate. Um, yeah. Anyway, the pizza looked good, so I made it. That’s usually my train of thought with food. It looks good therefore I shall eat it. Sometimes it even goes it’s edible therefore I shall eat it. Word of advice: never eat grass. My friend and I had a grass eating contest when we were little. I beat him, but it so wasn’t worth it. The end.

My mom wasn’t a big fan of the pizza and my sister with Celiac had multiple helpings. What does that mean? Not sure. But I enjoyed it and I’d probably make it again. I liked the sweet potato fries too (that’s what those orange things are up there), although they tasted a bit like that sweet potato casserole with the marshmallows on top that you make for Thanksgiving. You know, the one that I always get a huge helping of just to eat the melted marshmallows. I always thought the sweet potatoes were just there for decoration.

Oh and thanks mom for taking the pictures tonight while I was at the gym *pause for laughter*

Shaved Asparagus Pizza

From Annie’s Eats

pizza dough (my gluten-free version is found here)
Olive oil, for brushing
8 oz. asparagus spears
4 oz. fresh mozzarella, thinly sliced (I used shredded mozzarella. Shhhhhh, don’t tell anyone)
3 oz. spreadable garlic herb cheese, such as Boursin or Trader’s Point Creamery garden herb fromage blanc
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

Preheat the oven to 425 F. Make pizza dough and prebake it as it says in the recipe. Brush with olive oil.

Cut the tough woody stems off the ends of the asparagus spears.  Use a vegetable peeler to shave the spears into ribbons.  I used about 6 spears, but you can add more or less, depending on how much you like stringy green things on your pizza.

Place the mozzarella over the pizza dough in an even layer.  Pile the asparagus shavings over the top of the mozzarella.  Dot the surface of the pizza with the garlic herb cheese.  Season with kosher salt and pepper.

Bake until the cheese is melted and bubbling and the crust is lightly browned, about 10-12 minutes. Remove from the oven and let cool slightly before slicing and serving. Enjoy.

Sweet Potato Fries

Also from Annie’s Eats

2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled
2 tbsp. olive oil
2 tbsp. light brown sugar
1/2 tsp. kosher salt, plus extra for sprinkling
1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or aluminum foil greased with cooking spray.

Halve the sweet potatoes lengthwise and cut each half into long spears. Make sure to get lots of blisters on your hand from cutting the dumb potatoes. Not that I did that…  (Soak in cold water for 20-30 minutes before continuing for crispy texture outside.  Drain well and pat dry.)  Place the potato spears on the sheet pan and toss with olive oil.  Spread them in a single layer.  Combine the brown sugar, salt, and pepper and sprinkle on the potatoes.  Bake for 15 minutes, then turn with a spatula or tongs.  Bake for another 5 to 10 minutes, until lightly browned.  Sprinkle lightly with kosher salt and serve hot. Devour.

One thought on “When the asparagus hits your eye like a big pizza pie. That’s…painful.

  1. I do find it strange that you shaved asparagus but I shaved onion the other day. So weirdness matched.
    Kinda.
    Zucchini is one of the few veggies I DON’T like. I love tomatoes and potatoes and broccoli and onions and all that but I don’t like squash.
    I think it’s the texture. Textures bother me sometimes. Err, a lot of times.
    It’s pretty bad.
    Anyway.

    Even though I don’t like sweet potatoes, I think this looks pretty good and I’d try it. Plus it has asparagus and cheese so…
    Yeah.

Care to comment?

