ERROR 404 BLOG TITLE NOT FOUND. Probably because the owner of the blog is suffering from lemon overload…

You know when you have a lot to say but can’t find the words to say it so it’ll make sense? That’s my problem right now. I actually have that problem a lot. Lately I’ve found that after I’m done talking I’ll think to myself “wait, that wasn’t even a sentence…” I’m a little awkward.

In other equally interesting news, I made lemon cake today. Hold up. Make that a 4-layer gluten free lemon cake with lemon filling and lemon buttercream frosting. Go go gadget get me something to get all this lemon out of my system. I feel like I need a detox now. But it’s definitely worth it because the cake was totally fantastic and was the prettiest cake I’ve ever made. Which really isn’t saying much since the cakes I usually make involve cake mix from a box and then me frosting the cake while it’s still in the 9×13 pan and just eating it straight out of there. Classy with a K.

A lovely reader by the name of Avra-Sha Faohla submitted something for Stalker Sunday. Two things: first, I totally forgot about Stalker Sunday, and second, isn’t that to best name ever? I was seriously walking around my room today going Avra Sha, Avra Sha, Avra Sha. But, then again, sha is fun to say. I really need to get out more.

Oatmeal Bars

Adapted from AllRecipes. (Right on. That website is the bombdotcom.)

Ingredients

3 cups rolled oats
1 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
2 eggs
1/2 cup melted butter
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3/4 cup dried cranberries

Directions

Decide that instead of making your friend a birthday cake, you will help use up the ridiculous amount of oatmeal that’s hanging around your house by making her oatmeal bars.

In a large bowl, mix together oats, brown sugar, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt (or skip the salt because you’re cool and always skip it).

Realize that you’ve forgotten to preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Do so now.

Beat in milk (or rice milk, because you’re cool and only make dairy-free baked goods), eggs, melted butter (or oil, because you’re cool and try to be healthier even for baked desserts), and vanilla extract.

Discover that you actually have a huge bag of dried cranberries that no one’s using and therefore do not need a substitute. Stir them in.

Spread batter into a 9×13 inch baking dish and bake for 40 minutes.

Decide fifteen minutes into the forty that it would have been epic if you’d spelled out a happy birthday wish in dried cranberries, but determine that it’s too late for that.

Remove from oven at the end of the forty minutes. Cool, slice and eat. Ignore the fact that the thing totally falls apart when you slice it because it’s delicious enough to make up for that.

Sha. Ok sorry, I’m done now.

2 thoughts on “ERROR 404 BLOG TITLE NOT FOUND. Probably because the owner of the blog is suffering from lemon overload…

  1. Your lemon cake with lemon filling and lemon buttercream frosting was certainly not a lemon (imperfect), but rather more like wonderful!!!

Care to comment?

