Bucket lists are overrated. But if I did have one, it might look something like this…

In case you were wondering, I need this:

But first I need this: a job. Since I don’t see myself getting a job this summer because I’m not about to waste three months of my life being around people who, knowing my luck, will suck the joy out of my summer, I’m not going to get my precious 1969 Camero RS. Maybe next summer…or in 20 years, since I don’t think a summer job working at Journeys shoe store will pay for that car.

So, since I don’t want to be just sitting around all summer watching reruns of Downton Abbey and eating junk food (although that sounds pretty dang awesome), I’ve decided to make a bucket list.

I’d like bucket lists if everyone wasn’t making them. It’s kind of like Damian McGinty. I loved that guy back when he first joined Celtic Thunder when he was 14, and then he went on Glee and my undying love for him plummeted. He’s too popular now and, frankly, isn’t as Damian McGorgeous as he used to be. So that was my comparison between bucket lists and Irish singers. Anyway, I’m hoping to accomplish most of these things:

Get my license, which might involve actually starting to drive. Does someone near by want to volunteer to take me out driving since my mom’s scared to be in the car with me…? Anybody?

Go to six flags and convince Emily to go on the Superman with me. Seriously Emily, it’s pretty much the most fantastic ride ever. And I’m pretty sure you won’t get hurt on it.

Hang out with my friends that are off to college (Dear Emily and Caroline, I never gave you permission to go to college this fall and get educated without me. Seriously. You’re making me sad.)

Go to the midnight premiere of Dark Knight Rises and drag random people along with me.

Have an 80’s themed 17th birthday party. Because the 80’s sounded awesome and I was born 15 years too late…

Finish stupid Great Expectations that I’ve been reading since January. That book will be the death of me. But it’s SO good.

Get these. I’M NOT OBSESSED.

Go to a concert (I’m hoping Honor Society comes back soon so I can talk to the drummer Alexander Noyes and say something more than “you’re awesome” like I did last winter. Awkward? Oh yeah and it’s Alex’s 26th birthday today. Happy birthday, Alexander Crawford Noyes. You’re still the coolest person I’ve ever met, which is saying a lot because I’ve also met Damian Kulash from the band OK Go and a guy who dressed up as superman and was standing outside of Busch stadium.)

Convince my mom to let me dye my hair red again. But not Carrot Top red like it was last summer. My hair last summer was a prime example of why you shouldn’t buy $10 hair dye from walgreens and then color your hair yourself.

Pull an all-nighter and have a movie marathon. And no Marie, I refuse to watch Sweeney Todd at 3am so don’t even suggest it.

I’ll probably think of more stuff later, but this is a good place to start. Oh, and I pretty much butchered the cookies I made tonight.

The recipe said to bake them for nine to eleven minutes and to make sure to not overcook them, but they still weren’t done after being in the oven for twenty minutes. Blahhh. So I decided to use them in a trifle-type dessert with strawberries and moose tracks ice cream.

I’m not sure what I’m going to do with the rest of the cookies…maybe use them as a base of a chocolate crust, kind of like a graham cracker crust? We’ll see. I know they would have worked with regular brownie mix, because I’ve used normal mix and they’ve turned out, but for some reason the dumb gluten free brownies decided to be a real pain in the patella.

As Pacman says, “Only you can prevent overcooked brownie cookies.” Although I might be confusing him with that bear with the really manly voice. Can Pacman actually talk…? Deep questions.

Brownie cookies

From the Food Network website

21 ounces brownie mix
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
6 tablespoons canola oil
2 eggs, beaten
2 tablespoons water
6 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350°F

In a medium bowl, combine all ingredients. Stir until well blended.

Drop mix from a teaspoon onto a cookie sheet lightly sprayed with cooking spray. Bake for 9 to 11 minutes.

Once cookies have lost their gloss, yet still feel soft to the touch, remove from oven. Do NOT overbake them, or you’ll have to use them as hockey pucks.

Let cool 1 minute, then remove to racks to finish cooling. Store in airtight container for up to 1 week.

17 thoughts on “Bucket lists are overrated. But if I did have one, it might look something like this…

  1. What about hang out with your aunt who:
    1) will be there by Saturday and staying for the summer;
    2) just acquired a car after not having one for 12 years;
    3) would rather hang with you over just about anyone my age; and
    4) wants to take a dance and an improv class. (of course, you will have to do this with me… see #3)

    xox

    • Oooooh, I almost forgot you were coming in town. I’m now really really excited. And I’d love to hang out and take dance classes with super cool aunts. Maybe we could go running together too? I was running hills for 1/2 hour yesterday. Feel the burn, as in “don’t touch the fire. It boin.”

  2. I will be more than happy to teach you how to drive. I have nerves of steel. Oh, and it will only cost you something very yummy and chocolaty!

  3. My ramdom comments on your bucket list:

    Get my license: I would be happy to be your DDT (Designated Driving Teacher). However, since I am not close, how about having a grandmother get into the car with you at the wheel?

    The 80’s: I guess that your father and mother have told you all (maybe not all) of the exciting times that they had during that decade. However, they both missed the 60’s, when things were really happening. Now, the 50’s (my decade at your age) were really something, but I am not sure what.

    Great Expectations: I am hoping that you have such as you venture into the future.

    • The 50’s and 40’s sounded super fun too. I’m actually really debating between a 40’s and an 80’s themed birthday party. I still have a few months to think about it…

  4. Oh my gosh, can you just imagine what it would be like if we even tried to stay up till 3am? We might actually try to kill whoever woke us up the following morning.

    Muahaha….you never know when I may pop the movie in, let it play before your eyes, and start singing along with Johnny Depp and Alan Rickman. You were warned.

    • oops, I accidentally posted the comment before I was finished. Had you worried for a second there with my only two paragraph long comment, didn’t I?
      I love this bucket list. For realz. I think it’s awesome. And I want to take a picture to document the fact that Em was on the Superman :)

      Okay I’m done now.

      • I was really surprised. Marie didn’t write the Great American Novel of a comment? But then I got another email saying you left a second comment and I was like ok, I don’t have to worry that she was replaced by a normal robot version of herself.

        Emily’s going to go on the Superman if we have to throw a potato sack over her head and force her on the ride. Which actually might be difficult since she’s super tall and athletic and I’m like, you know, not.

        • Oh yeah. You know I’m famous for my novel comments and texts. Did you see my birthday greeting to Mara? Case in point. I have so much to say and so little typing skills. Just wait until your birthday ;)

          Yeah, I’m pretty sure I’d want her with me when I accidentally wander into a dark alley :)

          Oh right…Can we just ignore the fact that I forgot how when you stay up all night you don’t sleep/wake up in the morning? Okay, thanks.

          I don’t know how either of us is going to survive American Psycho….we will need pillows to cover our faces.

    • Dude, it’d be so much fun. It definitely needs to happen soon. No, we wouldn’t kill anyone because we’d be up all night and never go to sleep and then be a total grump all that day. At least I would.

      NOOOOOOOOOOOO. I had nightmares with Snow White. Granted, I was like 5 years old, but it scarred me for life and I haven’t watched it since.

  5. The ride does look awesome, but didn’t some lady get her leg cut off on that same ride? That’s what makes me nervous. I like my legs right where they are!! But since it’s on your “bucket list”, I’ll think about it. See what a good friend I am? :D

    I’m telling you, you should have graduated a year early. Then you should have gone to Truman with me and eaten ronzas with me every day.

  6. Sounds like you have a pretty amazing summer ahead of you. I haven’t seen Sweeney Todd. Is it good?? Well, I guess that’s a pretty obvious answer since Johnny Depp starrs in it. haha

    My goals for this summer and basically to finish and publish my book. Sure there are bazillion other things I’d like to do (like sit in the shade on our comfy cushioned swing eating italian popsicles and reading) but there’s a time for everything, and this summer is my time to focus and finally finish my book. I am determined. haha

    -Tia

  7. Umm I want the brownie strawberry ice cream thing.
    Also, the batman converse. Uh, AWESOME.
    Can I come to your 80’s themed birthday party? Because I really want to.

Care to comment?

