Don’t create what you think the people will like, create what you know you will like. Like cookie dough brownies.

I made up a recipe today. I’m pretty much Martha Stewart…minus the whole convicted felon part.

One of the many blogs I am subscribed to is Bakerella and yesterday she posted a recipe for chocolate chip cookie dough truffles. Once I was done crying tears of utter joy, I decided I had to make them. So this morning I was going about my cooking ways, dum dee dum dum dum, I made the cookie dough, formed them into balls, and was about to go find some popsicle sticks, since they are truffles-on-a-stick, when I realized, duh. I don’t have any almond bark to coat them with. After I finished up crying over that (today has been an emotional roller coaster for me), I searched the other blogs I follow and thought, hey, I can just make chocolate chip cookie dough peanut butter cups from How Sweet It Is. Things were looking up for me until I looked in our cabinets for more chocolate chips to coat the cookie dough with when I discovered WE HAVE NO CHOCOLATE CHIPS. What household doesn’t have chocolate chips?! Exactly. And then I got really sad.

So I improvised (this is where it gets really impressive). Luckily, we had brownie mix so I made the batter, poured it into liners in a cupcake tin, and basically made brownie cupcakes. After they were done, I made them into bowls, then flattened the cookie dough globs and smushed them into the brownie. Very descriptive, I know. I’d say that these are beyond wonderful but 1) I don’t want to brag about how great of a cook I am, 2) ok, I lied, I totally want to brag how how great of a cook I am. They’re wonderful, and 3) there are certain things in this world that can’t be explained. Like Skandar Keynes, for example.

The other day I went to the gym at 6am…ok, I haven’t been to the gym in forever, so actually it probably was a few weeks ago. But I know it was six in the morning because this dumb story will be forever etched in my head. Anyway, I made the mistake of wearing a shirt I made that says “It’s a Skandar thing, you wouldn’t understand.” Some old weird guy, as he was weirdly eating his banana (who eats a banana at six in the morning? Actually, who eats a banana at all?), told me he didn’t understand what a “Skandar thing” was. So, I told him Skandar Keynes was an actor. When he told me he had never heard of him, I wanted to say GO BACK TO YOUR BANANA, OLD MAN, but I didn’t. I then attempted to explain, while I was still half asleep, how he is a British actor who isn’t really in a bunch of movies and blah blah blah. I can’t really remember what I said because it was kind of early. Worst day of my life. More or less.

If you’re looking for an excuse to make these, you could always hypothetically make them on the off chance you told me a while back that today is your birthday or something. Or I could make them for you in spirit, since you’re a broke graduate student and stuff. You know, hypothetically.

Cookie Dough Brownies

Cookie dough recipe is from Bakerella. The rest is from my imagination. Whacha.

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
2 tablespoons milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt (leave out if you are using salted butter)

1 box of brownie mix
1 egg
1/3 cup water
1/3 cup vegetable oil

For the brownies, preheat oven to 350 ºF. Place paper cupcake liners cups in muffin pans. If possible, get the really fun looking ones that have tiger print or Disney princesses or something on them. Ok maybe not the princesses, but those cupcake things kick the excitement factor up to 11. If that makes sense.

Combine brownie mix, eggs, water and oil in a large bowl. Place 2 tablespoons of batter in each paper liner.

Bake for 10-13 minutes, or until edges are done and brownie tops crack. Take out of oven and set aside.

For the cookie dough, beat butter and sugars with an electric mixer until light and fluffy (about 3 minutes). Mix in milk and vanilla. Add flour and salt and mix on low until combined. Then stir in chocolate chips, if you are fortunate enough to have chocolate chips in your house. If so, I envy you.

Chill dough in refrigerator for about 30 minutes until firm enough to roll into 1-inch balls. Wrap a shot glass (make sure to use the random one that says Florida on it) in plastic wrap and use it to make a dent in the brownies. Flatten the cookie dough balls and press into brownie cups. Try not to eat all of them at once.

13 thoughts on “Don’t create what you think the people will like, create what you know you will like. Like cookie dough brownies.

  1. These look fantastic, and I want them. You ARE kind of brilliant!
    Also… the Skandar Keynes story made me giggle. (His name is confusing.)

    • They are fantastic. I was going to put peanut butter in them, but my mom is an avid peanut-butter-in-desserts hater, and I’m pretty sure I could eat peanut butter cookies by the pound. But I’m usually nice and leave out the peanut butter just for her, because I’m a loving child… Wow, could I say peanut butter any more in this paragraph? Yes. Peanut butter.

  2. These look so good. When I first saw the picture, my jaw dropped and my mouth watered. Nice visual for you there.

    You can make these for me and we could eat them Sunday :)))) SAY YES! Although, I’m not a broke graduate student, I am a high school graduate and it could be my present, because I love anything with chocolate in it. That doesn’t make a whole lot of sense, but whatever.

    Creepy old men are the weirdest thing ever. Once a guy was like, “hey whatdya know?” and I was like, “Hmm sorry?” and he’s like, “What do you know?” I mumbled something and kind of just walked away. Awko.

    • YES. I will gladly give you these as your congrats for making it out of highschool and staying semi-sane present. I doubt they’ll be good by Sunday (or even still around…), so I guess I’ll just have to make more. *sigh* My life is so hard.

  3. Picco,

    The following is not to be taken seriously:

    I am crushed or, to use your term, smushed. You have excoriated two of my favorite things, bananas and old men. Bananas, because they contain potassium (which is very good for you) and old men because, (in the opinion of some people–not me, however), I am one. I will also have you know that I am quite familiar with Skandar’s father and his theory of economics.

    The following is to be taken seriously:

    I agree with your thoughts regarding peanut butter. Case in point—I often load up stalks of celery with a large dollops of the stuff.

    • Darn. I thought I made it up…oh well. Isn’t it difficult attempting to eat your cookie and brownie simultaneously? Luckily I solved that dilemma. Next stop, world hunger.

  4. Dear Picco,

    Sorry that my birthday was such an emotionally trying time for you. On the other hand just look what developed: an amazing recipe and being featured on Word Press! Your awesomeness grows daily.

    Love, Mimi

    • They are! Unfortunately they’re so good that it’s hard to stop eating them. And then when your brain is like dude, you’re full, stop eating, your stomach is like MUST. HAVE. MORE. It’s pretty dramatic.

  5. Pingback: One Day in the Life of Picco Denisovich | Spoonlighting

Care to comment?

