Could be better. Could be raining. And 20 degrees cooler.

The only things hotter than a St. Louis summer are molten lava and the sun. If the thought “Hey, I’d like to visit St. Louis in the summer” ever crossed your mind, IGNORE IT. Yesterday it was 106 degrees and today it was 102, but felt like 107. It’s so hot here that you start sweating just thinking about going outside. Blah. I’m moving to Ireland. It’s cold there, right? I mean you never hear about Ireland exporting bananas or coconuts, so it has to be cold.


As of right now, my friend is in Spain. For a month. I spent the other night helping her pack and listening to music we bought in 7th grade (and weren’t sure if we should be proud or depressed that we knew every lyric to every Miley Cyrus, Jonas Brothers, and Justin Timberlake song). It was really fun, until she started talking about Spain. She said “I think it’s going to be a breezy 80 degrees when I get there, and it’s right on the ocean so it won’t feel too hot.” Hate. Jealous. So many emotions. I threatened her with her life if she didn’t send me a postcard or buy me something, because…uhhh…that’s just the person I am. I’m not crazy, I promise. Or maybe I am, but people are just very accepting of me. I really appreciate it, guys.

Then I realized that almost most everyone I know is either leaving, going to college, or going to a Spanish speaking country. Or people on a Hispanic scholarship are leaving to go work at a college. Hmmm. I think I just need to kidnap all my friends and lock them in my closet. Would that be weird? Yeah, maybe just a little bit.

In order to ease the pain of people rudely leaving my life, I made cookies. I brought 9 over when I was helping my friend pack and we ate all of them in 20 minutes. I really appreciate people who have similar eating habits to mine. I’ve made these and posted about them before, but for those of you who just started reading my blog (hello, 6 new followers), let’s pretend that I’ve never made these before. HEY, look at this new recipe I found!

I’ve tried 20+ cookie recipes, and this is definitely my go-to recipe. Part of the reason they’re so good is that you get to tear them apart and then squish them back together. Fun and delicious. Could you ask for more? Well, yes. They would be much better if I had put Reese’s peanut butter chips in them. Every time I use peanut butter in a recipe my mom threatens to disown me a little bit more. Also, they would be much better if I had made these with Freddie Mercury. Although that might be creepy…? Since he, uh, bit the dust a while ago. But knowing me, I’d pull a Dr. Frankenstein/Igor and dig Freddie up from the grave. Aaaannnndddd now this is getting really weird.

Giant Chocolate Chip Cookies

From How Sweet It Is

makes 18 large or 36 small cookies

2 cups + 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 1/2 sticks (12 tablespoons) of salted butter, melted and coole
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg + 1 egg yolk, at room temperature
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup mini m&m’s or anything else that you love. Don’t attempt to fold in Ryan Gosling. I already tried with disastrous results.

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

Mix the flour and baking soda in a bowl and set aside. Boring. I feel like every recipe has you combining the dry ingredients and then just ignoring them. In another bowl, mix the butter and sugars until they are combined.  Add the egg, egg yolk, and vanilla and stir until mixed. Gradually add flour and mix until a dough forms. I made the first mistake of cookie making and dumped all the flour in at once, and then realize I forgot to put the eggs in. *sigh* Fold in the m&m’s.

Divide the dough how you choose (1/4 cup portions for 18 large cookies or 2 tablespoon portions for 36 smaller cookies). Shape each portion into a ball with your hands then pull each ball into two equal pieces. WHACHA. Turn each half so that the rough side of the half (what used to be the inside of the ball) faces upwards and then squish both halves together. Make sure to squish them, or they’ll look super weird. Place the dough rough-side up on a baking sheets. If you’re doing large cookies, I’d leave about 2 inches in between each.

Bake for 12-15 minutes (large cookies) or 8-12 minutes (small cookies) or until the edges are slightly brown. The centers should be soft and puffy. Do not over bake, or they’ll be gross. Let cool completely (or, uhhh, not), and I give you permission to eat all of them at all once.

11 thoughts on “Could be better. Could be raining. And 20 degrees cooler.

  1. More off the wall stuff from yours truly.

    I know that Picco, being somewhat Italian, likes the British. Why, I am not sure. Anyway, here is how a Brit might describe the very hot weather in STL: It is not the eat that bothers a lot of the people, it is the umidity.

    Now a little birdie told me that your relative humidity is relatively low. Hope this makes you feel a little cooler–at least as cool as your aunt.

    • Honestly, I’m not sure why either I prefer the Brits.

      Yes it is low, but that doesn’t make me feel any better. Although today it was only 99 degrees and it felt like winter.

  2. Loved this post, Picco! I figured I should probably comment now, before I forget to, like I did on your last post… sorry… However, just so you know, it was hilarious as well. :D

    I’m sorry everyone is leaving you!! Well, I’m staying home the entire summer…so both of us are in the same boat. Except that I’m publishing a book. :D

    Anyways, I totally vote that you should make those cookies with peanut butter chips. That would ah-mazing. One question though – how can you still manage to bake when it’s so hot? It’s not near that hot here (it’s around the mid-90’s), and I can even imagine baking…even though peanut butter bars are calling my name…

    -Tia

    • Thank ya, darling :)

      Oh whatever, you’re publishing a book! And I’m doing…uhhh…nothing. Although I am being a counselor at a camp in August, so yay?

      Me too. I’ll just tell my mom that she doesn’t have to eat them and I can eat them all by myself. As I was baking and had the oven at like 400 degrees all I could think about is, is it really worth it? And then I decided it was :)

  3. The heat index was 112 degrees yesterday and the day before. And 100% humidity level.
    This is not an exaggeration.
    I stepped outside and my glasses fogged up.
    It was hot. And humid.

    And as for friends leaving and being all alone(sniffle) I know what it’s like…except I was the one leaving. And then I had to watch all my friends go on with their lives.
    Sad face.
    But don’t worry, I’m not going anywhere.
    Umm, ya know from here. In Florida. 15 hours away.
    Ya know what, you should come visit. You can vacation here. We have a beach, and a Ripley’s Believe It Or Not museum, and a Subway a five minute walk down the street.
    Come.
    Visit.

    • Blahhhhhhhhhh. I went outside to take a picture yesterday and the lens fogged up.

      You should come here. We have Marie, and the City Museum (google it. It’s amazing.), and Panera Bread’s a less than five minute walk down the street. YOU come visit. Picco 1, Kait 0.

  4. Well, I can’t comment on Ireland, but I can say that England is cool. Today was considered a “warm” day. It was 70 degrees. I am dreading returning to NY where I hear it has been about 100 degrees for the past few weeks…

    Stay cool!

    • 70? Wow, that sounds so nice. But even if it is 100 in New York, I’m incredibly jealous because I’ve always wanted to go there. I’m pushing my mom to let my present when I graduate from highschool be a trip to New York to see The Little Mermaid on Broadway and just generally chillax in NY. One day…

Care to comment?

