Where in the world is Picco Sandiego?

Well, hello there. Did you forget about me? I hope not…I really haven’t been gone that long. Sheesh, guys. But for those of you who don’t have short-term memory loss, let me fill you in on exactly what’s gone down since I last blogged.

August 4th is national Piccola Italiana Day. Also known as my birthday. Yes, I turned 17. Am I the only one who thinks that sounds so old? I didn’t feel weird turning 16, but now I’m like woah…I’m 17. Make sense? I thought not. I was going to hang out with a group of people on my birthday and see Batman and go bowling, but my friend’s dad was sick, the guy I invited was insecure and didn’t want to be the only guy there (don’t even get me started), and the only person who could make it was the same girl I saw Batman with the first time, so I decided to reschedule the festivities. Instead, I just hung out with my friend, and her parents took me out to get Chinese food.

This year was hands-down the best year of presents. I got a lot (and really should be writing thank you notes right now. Oops?), but a few of the fantastic presents I got were Batman Converses, band aids that look like bacon, a gorgeous corsage from my next door neighbors, seasons 1 and 2 of Downton Abbey, Batman Converses, posters of Heath Ledger, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, and New York (ok, I bought those for myself, but whatever), Batman Converses, and lots of money. And Batman Converses. Guess which present I loved the most? You’re right, it was the bacon band aids. Ok, maybe that was #2.

The day after my birthday, I headed off to a music/choir camp with my brother and sister and got back last night. I was supposed to be a counselor there, but that plan sort of fell through as I quickly found out, so I was made a junior counselor which was probably the best. The camp was for ages 10-16, so I was the oldest kid there, which I later found out made some of the guys scared of me. The first couple of days I was just getting to know the campers and kind of stuck with the same 3 girls who were my age. Then on the 3rd day at breakfast we mixed up the tables and I sat with 2 quiet people and this guy that my sister knew. She has gone to this camp for the last 3 years and he has too, so I kind of knew who he was, but really didn’t think much of him…until someone asked “What time is it?” and he responded “It’s time to get ill.” I was like “WOAH. HOLD UP.  We say that too.” Beastie boys, much? And thus a friendship was born. We spent the rest of breakfast talking about our love of Batman, the bands Train and Maroon 5, and the fact that it’s semi-lame that we could both recite Napoleon Dynamite. He’s pretty much my soulmate (Napoleon Dynamite reference, people…). Every meal after that everyone went back to sitting with the people they sat with before the mix up, but he would nonchalantly say to his friends “Oh look, there’s a space at Picco’s table. I’m, uhhh, gonna sit here.”

There’s a game that almost the entire camp would play every day called Bob. Kind of a dumb game, but…it’s pretty fun…To play, everyone sits in a circle, keeps time by hitting their knees (my knees are quite sore now), and “Bob” would call out someone’s name, the person would say “what?” Bob would say “who?” and then the person they called out would say another person’s name, and it would continue “what?” “who?” until someone hesitated or said “Ajgfjdifih” like I did once. I got less than 6 hours of sleep every night, ok? The person who messed up would go to the end of the circle and could only advance when someone else messed up. Every time I messed up, he would conveniently mess up too and move to be next to me and do the sit-awkwardly-close-whoops-did-I-just-accidently-hit-your-leg-again? move. I later found out all the guys there were completely in love with me, which makes sense now since they all knew my name and I still hardly knew half of them by the end of camp. Um, hilarious. The second to last day I was feeling oddly bold and right as we were all about to head to our dorms, I said “Hey, you have really pretty eyes.” He gave me a weird look, said thanks, and kinda ran away from me. I really do scare people.

I knew all of you wanted to hear this story, but I’m never popular like this and am still kind of on cloud 9. The end. So, fellow blog readers, how have you guys been? I spend a week in a place with no cell phone reception just to come back to find out Mara’s engaged, Emily started a blog, I have the same birthday as Tia’s mom, and Kait sent me the nicest email I’ve ever gotten. I love you guys.

12 thoughts on “Where in the world is Picco Sandiego?

  1. Well look at Miss Popular!! ;) I’m pretty sure you were on cloud 9. And I bet your 100% completely without a doubt planning on going back to the camp next year. ;)

    I hope you had a fantastic birthday! Oh my goodness I’m going to steal your Batman converse. Except for the fact that I live on the other side of the country… but those are so amazingly awesome!!! Wow, that’s amazing. You’re not the only one who thinks 17 sounds so old. I was thinking about that the other day, going, “I’m turning 17! That’s so old!” It’s like this huge step from stereo-“I’m just a teenager” to…. idk, maturity? Weird. Oh but August 4th is also “International Tia Rising’s Mom’s Day” because it was her birthday as well (see my blog). haha

    Anyway, glad you’re back! I have been thinking about you for the past few days…wondering if you were ever going to post or comment again…. You can tell I thrive on hearing from Picco. It’s a twin thing.

    -Tia

    • Heehee, who woulda thunk? And yes, if I can go back next year, I’m definitely going to.

      Aren’t they so cool?! I’m actually wearing them right now. I’m glad you agree that 17 is old. Tell your mom I say happy belated birthday!

      I’m glad I’m back too. I’m commenting on your post right after I get these thank you notes written up :)

  2. Outstanding blog detailing your birthday presents and your camping experiences. You might consider atteding a camp next year where the minimum age is 17 years.

  3. Best. Camp. Ever. HA!
    That is so hilarious. I was laughing so hard and I’m in my garage with a friend sitting next to me playing some video game with my brothers and he keeps looking at me weird like “Why the heck are you guffawing at your laptop.”. Oh well. You’re funny.
    Also, I’m going to steal your converse. My friend who’s been giving me those weird looks because of my frequent laughter’s younger brother has the same ones. I’m so jealous.
    I’m glad you had a good birthday and I hope you forgive me for thinking National Piccola Day was actually the 6th instead of the 4th. But I guess it worked out in the end because it seemed like my email came at a good time. ;)

    • I. Know. Right.

      Did you just use the word guffawing? *highfive over the internet* I just slapped my computer screen for you. I hope you’re happy.

      It’ll be hard to steal them since I’ve pretty much been wearing them 24/7. And if you steal them off my person, I will have to smack you upside the head. I’m not exactly sure how I’d do that, but…you know what, I’m just going to stop talking.

      I actually didn’t even notice you missed the most important day of the year by 2 days. But don’t make that mistake ever again, you hear? Or I will learn how to smack you upside the head and I’ll do it. This comment is violent. I apologize. And yes, the email came at a perfect time. I read it like 10 times when I first got it. It’s exactly what I needed… :/

  4. LOL! So funny…choir camp will always stay with me. I’m glad you’re back though, I’m not actually sure how I survived this whole week without texting you.

    I love those posters!!

    Marie

    • Choir camp is cool. It would have been cooler if you were there *hint hint we should go as counselors next year.* I’m not sure how I survived this week without texting YOU! There were so many times where I was like “I NEED TO TELL MARIE THIS.” and I couldn’t. Worst feeling ever.

      I love them more.

  5. Pingback: A superhero cake for my brother who pretends he’s Batman | Spoonlighting

Care to comment?

