Qui$ha. Like Ke$ha, but more quiche-like.

Corrupted Brother: What are you doing?
Me: Looking at scholarships (I assumed he knew what those are since he knows about Megan Fox…I mean what 4 year old DOESN’T know about scholarships?)
CB: What are scholarships? (ok, I guess I was wrong.)
Me: They are things that give me money for college.
CB: WAIT. STEVE FROM BLUE’S BLUES GOES TO COLLEGE.
Me: Oh really?
CB: Yeah, Steve can bring his pillow to college.
Me: So am I like Steve?
CB: *looks at me for a second*
Yup.

So apparently I’m like an old bald dude with really bad veneers. Thanks a lot.

Anyway…I’ve had two fun filled days. Yesterday I went shopping and today I got a necklace from my lovely blogger friend Kait Culbertson. Oh and I was sung to yesterday. Jealous? I’ve already told like 5 people this story, but I need to tell it again.

You are not allowed to judge, but I enjoy Hot Topic. I only buy normal stuff there, I swear. No gauges for me, only Dr. Who shirts and buttons that say “cool story, bro.” My aunt got me a bag with the Beatles’ Abbey Road picture on it for my birthday, and I used it yesterday when I went to the mall. I walked into Hot Topic with my friend and the guy who worked there (Bryan) said “Hey, I really like your bag.” I said thanks, figuring the conversation would be over. Nope. He then said “So, I guess you like the Beatles?” And I said “Yeah, I was kinda raised on them.” And it went downhill from there. He proceeded to tell me all about how he was too and then he asked if I had heard of a band called City of Colours. I stupidly said yes, and then he said “Ok, don’t tell anyone, but I’m going to turn off the heavy metal and put on some acoustic stuff by City of Colours.” So he started playing their music through the store speakers…and singing to me. Twice. He actually had a semi-decent voice, but it was odd hearing a heavily tattooed and pierced dude sing a pretty song to me…and it was also odd to be heavily hit on by the same guy. By the time I left, I was actually surprised he hadn’t proposed. Weirdest experience of my young life? I think yes.

Also, I spent the day with my friend Katie. After a long period of not talking, I think we actually get along much better than we did pre-awkward fight. And I didn’t even think it was weird when she accidentally pulled multiple items of clothing off the rack at Forever 21. I missed her.

Earlier today, my brother ran up to my room holding a letter and laughing. He’s like what is this?! It was a letter from Kait addressed to *real first name* Piccola Gordon-Levitt Italiana *real last name*. It would have been perfect if she had added Bale to it. What was inside the letter? Uh, only two friendship necklaces. One for Marie and one for me. Kait has the Union Jack one, Marie has the double decker bus, and I have the telephone booth. It’s pretty much one of the coolest things I’ve ever gotten. Also, Kait is one of those people who can say, “Heeeeeey, did you ever realize that seals are like mermaid dogs. That’s weird.” without thinking anything of it. Exhibit A why we get along so well.

Now that I’m done with all of that, let’s discuss quiche. Once upon a time, I had a friend whose parents’ favorite meal was spinach quiche. I bet you’re thinking hey, spinach quiche. Potentially good, right? WRONG. It was disgusting and they would make it All. The. Time. It was painful for 8-year-old me to simultaneously pretend to like it and try not to barf. It was about that time that I got very good at multi-tasking. Needless to say, I was scared of quiche for a while. Then I found out you didn’t have to make it with spinach. You could make it with other normal foods, like bacon and cheese and onions. Which is exactly what I do now.

I’m not sure if this is a good recipe or not, since the only other recipe I’ve tried that I can compare it to is the Disgusting Quiche From Heck That Probably Comes Alive At Night one, but I like it. It also doesn’t have a crust, so it’s gluten free. Could life get better? Actually yeah, my life would be much better if I hadn’t been traumatized by stupid spinach quiche. I swear that explains all my problems.

Crustless Quiche

1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 onion, chopped
1 pound bacon, thawed
6 eggs, beaten
2 1/2 cups shredded swiss cheese
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

Lightly grease a 9 inch pie pan.

Place bacon on a foil-lined cookie sheet. Put bacon into a cold oven, set oven temperature to 400 F, and bake for 15-18 minutes, or until cooked. Finely chop bacon after it has cooled.

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Saute onions, then stir in bacon so the delicious flavors of bacon and onion are melded together and make you start drooling. In a large bowl, combine eggs, cheese, salt and pepper. Add bacon/onion mixture and stir to blend. Scoop into prepared pie pan.

Bake in preheated oven until eggs have set, about 30 minutes. Let cool for 10 minutes before serving. Ha, just joking. Dig right in and burn your mouth. It’s so worth it.

4 thoughts on “Qui$ha. Like Ke$ha, but more quiche-like.

  1. YUM. I love me some quisha-licious-ness.AND I want that necklace now. I will very probably wear it everyday :)

    I love your stories about random people. Hilarious? Touching?Romantic? Are those wedding bells I hear in the distance? …Oh, no those are tornado sirens.

    Marie

    P.s. I think it’s a day for making up weird words (e.g. philoy, quishaliciousness).

    • I need to give it to you, IF I EVER SEE YOU, WOMAN. Saturday?

      Why do I have the weirdest weirdest stories? I think either I’m unfortunate and I constantly run into the oddballs, or I don’t get out of the house much and this kind of stuff happens to everyone. Hmmm.

      Heh, philoy. I still don’t get it ;)

  2. Hi Piccola Gordon-Levitt Bale Italiana,

    You have given new meaning to the letters CB. Heeey, did you know that a manatee is also called a sea COW? Now I know how that store got the name Hot Topic–evidently he is one!!! Very neat Brit telephone booth friendship necklace. I think the British term for a telephone booth is a telephone box.

Care to comment?

