Mid-week Crisis: A post about amazing college visits and the fact that I apparently don’t know my opposites.

1. At first I was afraid, I was petrified. Didn’t think that I could…uhhh…pass midterms. I’m pretty sure that’s how the song goes. Right? I had midterms last week and was absolutely drained studying/cramming for them. Now that I’m not stressed out anymore, I’ll be back to cooking for sure. For the history midterm I memorized 127 note cards worth of information on the War of 1812 and the French and Indian War. Test me on anything. Battle of Long Island? Got it. Burr vs. Hamilton? In the bag. How to spell broccoli? *silence* I have such a hard time with that word.

2. I visited a college this past weekend and I loved it. LOVED. It’s my top choice and after visiting there’s no reason to look at any other ones since it’s exactly what I want. I’m a bit of a free spirit and really have a hard time fitting in anywhere, but everyone there is exactly like I am. Of course there were were a few jocks and icky girls, but a majority of them were, well, geeks. My tour guide said that he rides his unicycle across campus. Ok maybe I’m not that weird, but he’s definitely someone I’d be friends with. You have no idea how happy I was to finally be in a place where I just felt normal. If I don’t get accepted I’m going to curl up into a ball and die. Also known as I’m going to go eat all the Halloween candy we got this year. It’s so nice having my family be one of the 3 families with kids in the neighborhood. I’m sending in my college application by Friday and hopefully the application to the nursing school by next week. Wish me luck, guys.

3. I think I need to buy this shirt. And by think I mean need. I need I need to buy this shirt? Well, that’s almost correct grammar.

4. My best friend is having surgery on Friday. She and I have hands-down the weirdest friendship ever (there’s a lot of talking and then not talking for a year and then doing that all over again until we’re finally friends again), but I love her to pieces. From what she’s told me, the surgery she’s having is pretty dangerous and she’ll be in the hospital for a while. Most of the support she’s getting involves people telling her how dangerous it is or how their cousin’s friend died while having a similar surgery. Because of that, I invited her over for a You’re Not Going to Die party. We made cookie dough and wrote letters to the baseball players David Freese and Joe Kelly. I threatened Joe that I’d slap him upside the head with a dead fish if he said he was a Cubs fan. And we wonder why I don’t have a boyfriend… Ignore that bowl with the crumbs. We inhaled the toasted raviolis that were in it and I was too lazy to take it out of the picture. Anyway, If you could all pray for her or send her good thoughts, that would be fantastic. How exactly does one go about sending good thoughts? Do you go “leprechaunssunshinedaisiesheathledger75%offcouponswarmchocolatechipcookies ok, I’m done. Those were some good thoughts.”? Just wondering.

5. Last week I invited a friend that I never see *coughMARIEcough* over so we could make Halloween food. I took pictures with my mom’s camera, but I’m too lazy to upload them right now. It’s the middle of the week, people. I’ll do it tomorrow. But here’s a picture from my phone of the cakeball eyeballs I made. I made these last year too, but these turned out much better this time, aside from the fact that they’re a bit wonky looking in this picture. That red icing was a huge mess and your fingers were absolutely covered with it by the time you had your 4th one. Not that I know anything about that…

6. Fringe season 3 finale. Can we just talk about this for a moment? All of you need to start watching it so we can have like a Fringe club meaning. Kind of like a book club, but more Fringe-y and less booky. So Peter never existed. And Olivia dies, but not yet, because Peter just saw her die when he got electrocuted by that machine and went 20 years into the future. Then he came back proclaimed “I have seen doomsday!” and then just disappears and everyone’s totally cool with it. Or maybe they just ignored him like you ignore a 9 year old telling a pointless story that won’t end. Hey, I have 6 siblings. I’m allowed to make fun of kids.

7. If you’re anything like me, you still struggle with learning your opposites. Luckily Sesame Street has a helpful video to watch. You’re welcome.

Care to comment?

