My haphazard new year’s resolutions

Happy New Year. Yesterday was the worst day of my life.

I was on the phone with my friend and we were discussing Cardinals baseball players. I’m not sure exactly what led to it, but somehow she found David Freese’s address in the white pages. Wanting to be equally as stalkerish, I decided to find Joe Kelly’s address. For those of you who don’t know, Joe is pretty much my favorite baseball player ever and aaalllmmmooosssttt a good pitcher. I have faith in him, even though the first time he got a single he tripped and fell over first base. I couldn’t find him, so I decided to go on his twitter and guess what? JOSEPH WILLIAM KELLY JR IS ENGAGED. My life is over. Right when I found out I seriously had that weird feeling you get when you’re about to fall asleep and suddenly your brain decides to go hey, why don’t you feel like you’re about to fall and then jolt yourself awake and have a minor panic attack? It was like a wave of sorrow hit me. Actually it was more like a tsunami of despair. When I told my mom, she laughed and basically told me I’m pathetic. I have no emotional support around here.

Now it’s time for some New Year’s resolutions. I have three. One, I’m going to try not to take things too personally. I tend to do that with critiques and just random, dumb things. So I’ll definitely work on that… Second, I’m going to train for a half marathon. There’s a Rock n Roll marathon/half marathon here next fall that I’m going to attempt to run. Other than running the 5K last June (I never got my award for placing 2nd in my age group…) and occasionally running in the neighborhood and at the gym, I really don’t run at all. I’ll keep you all updated. I ran two days ago on snow and ice, so obviously I’m not a big fan of good exercise decisions. My third resolution is to not die. That way if I do, it’s really a non-issue. I aim high.

So, how about you? Are your resolutions as… interesting… as mine?

gluten free chocolate chip muffins

Also, Sister Celiac made gluten free chocolate chip muffins all by herself. This was a big deal since apparently she’s scared of the oven. She wanted me to put up a picture of them, so here they are. Good job, sister. Please get over that irrational fear ASAP since you’re, ummm, a teenager. #wordsofwisdom

7 thoughts on “My haphazard new year’s resolutions

  1. I actually didn’t make any New Years resolutions this year, because basically…I NEVER KEEP THEM. And then I feel like a lazy failure and it’s overall not a good experience. However, I like yours. Running a marathon!! That’s amazing. I actually really really wish that I could run. But every time I try to I pretty much die…but I need to try more, or something. :D

    -Tia

    • I usually never keep them either, but I’m signing up for a half marathon either today or tomorrow. I’m actually doing one in April just to see how out of shape I am, and it’ll give me something to work towards that isn’t 10 months away ;) I wish you lived closer so we could be running buddies. I really have no motivation outside of my running shoes giving me the evil eye. That sounded really scary. Sorry?

      • It would be so much fun to be running buddies! Pretty much everyone I know around here are runners, so that should motivate me, and possibly cause me to run with them, but all the runners are also really amazing runners, and I would die after 4.5 seconds. That would be epically lame.

        Haha, I liked your metaphor! You should include something like that in that cookbook you’re writing. :D

        -Tia

  2. My New Year’s resolution is to cook more dinners…I do Betty Crocker cakes well (who gets Betty Crocker wrong? Exactly) and I can cook breakfasts. But lunches and dinners? Um.

    • I really have a hard time motivating myself to make dinner. I’m usually wiped out and the last thing I want to do is cook… blah. Breakfast, on the other hand, is always enjoyable. Mostly because I just stick Eggo waffles in the toaster and pour some orange juice.

Care to comment?

