the depressing Downton Abbey finale, dry sockets, and other first world problems

Well hello. I didn’t see you there. I’ve missed you all dearly and wanted to let you know what’s been going on in my life. Also, I always have a lot to say and it all bottles up unless I blog. So sit back and listen to tales of what’s gone down in Piccoland.

*spoiler alert* Who all watched the season finale of Downton Abbey last Sunday? Am I the only one incredibly upset with it? Not about Matthew. He’s always been my least favorite character and I wasn’t sad to see him go. Sorry. But if they put Branson and Mary together I refuse to watch it anymore and will instead spend my time looking at pictures of Allen Leech. Anyway, I hated how the episode just sort of …stopped. There really wasn’t much of a plot line for it and if I heard the words “Anna and Bates” or “Mismanaged estate” one more time, I was going to punch the tv. But I was incredibly impressed by that bagpipe song. I thought there was only one song and it was the duh duh daduh duh duh duh DUHHHHH one, but that proved me wrong. Now we’re going to have to wait an entire year for season 4. Although I’m a bit excited to see them cover the Great Depression. That affected the UK, right? *spoiler alert over*

I’m almost 100% recovered from my wisdom tooth extraction of death. In the recovery process, I found out I had four dry sockets. Have you ever had a dry socket? It’s like a toothache/ear infection/headache all rolled into one fun ball of pain. My oral surgeon only packed the bottom two sockets, and I’m glad because the whole process is horrid. Basically he took gauze coated in clove oil and a sedative and put it on the sockets. Disgusting? Yes. Did everything taste like potpourri until they were taken out? Yes. But I’m much better now and I’m so glad I’ll never have to go through that again.

hersheys hot chocolate

I still have to irrigate the sockets so I’m not eating much stuff that will get stuck in them (sorry to make this post incredibly disgusting). I’ve also only been craving Cream of Wheat and hot chocolate. And by craving I mean CRAVING. I’ve already gone through almost an entire box of Cream of Wheat. That combined with the fact that I wished that I had my glasses this morning to find my glasses because I’m so nearsighted makes me feel like an old woman. So yes, no cooking. But next time my dad goes to the store I’m having him pick up the ingredients for a German chocolate cake, so get excited for that. In the meantime, here’s a picture of the homemade hot chocolate I made. The recipe is on the back of the Hershey’s cocoa box. That’s as homemade as it’s going to get. I put it in my Mark McGwire cup because I miss baseball so much. I’m going to ignore the fact that Mark used steroids.

I think I’m going to watch the Oscars tomorrow. I’ve never actually watched an awards show. Is that weird? I’m probably just going to watch the first hour because, no offense, I could care less about the acceptance speech from the director of Kon-Tiki.

So yes, that’s my life. Any thoughts on Downton? The Oscars? My odd Cream of Wheat addiction?

11 thoughts on “the depressing Downton Abbey finale, dry sockets, and other first world problems

  1. I wondered where you had got too! Anyways what I want to know is why it’s spelt Downtown when I’m under the impression it’s pronounced Downtun :/

    I have never watched it as I have a fear of period dramas due to a ‘For Schools & Colleges’ show called How We Used To Live (Boringly was my take on it)

    I was also alarmed by the photo, initially thinking it might be the remains of the draining, I was so relieved to dicover it was hot chocolate…

    Glad you’re on the mend & back in the game :)

  2. Ugh. I hated Matthew. I actually cheered when he died, no joke.
    Dry sockets suck… I remember being bold and eating rice AND popcorn before mine had healed up… Not very bright. Hope you feel better soon!!!

  3. Picco, sorry to hear about your dry sockets! I was terrified that would happen to me after I got my wisdom teeth taken out (all 4 at once last year), but I was lucky to escape it.

    Gotta tell you, I had been missing your blog posts!

    • You da bomb. I haven’t read your post yet, but apparently my mom’s already read it and commented and you’ve replied to her comment. Wow. You guys obviously hate me. Let me know when I can join your club…

Care to comment?

