My name is Picco, and I am a survivor of my first week of college

There are people literally running into the walls outside my door. It’s like they’re playing hall ball out there, but instead of throwing around a football they’re using their bodies. Is this what college is like? Because this is downright weird. That being said, I’ve made it through my first seven days of college. Commence wild applause. I kept typing applesauce when I was just trying to type applause. I think I need to post this and go to sleep for all of our sake.

5th floor of college dorm

I moved in last Saturday, and I got stuck on the 5th floor of my dorm. Don’t even get me started. I – and the rest of my floor – have found that it’s best to just run straight up all 71 stairs without stopping so that you only feel the burn at the top. This past week has honestly been a blur. We’ve had freshman week which is basically three hours of classes pertaining to our major each day and the rest of the day is filled with ice breakers and group activities that no one really wants to go to. Yesterday was the first official day of class and we were all beyond ready for it. My freshman week class for nursing involved us reading a chapter of Peter Pan and begin making a movie relating freshman week to the chapter. Because that totally makes sense?

how to study for college students

I’ve found the best way to study is to camp out in a friend’s room and eat all her Frosted Flakes. Or today I spent three hours studying in the library with a girl who is in all of my classes and we basically got all of our homework done for the weekend. I kinda was more productive sans sugary cereal, but I’ve heard it both ways.

dodgeball

Yesterday I had a nursing class and biology, and today I had psych. So far all of my professors are incredibly nice and have said that we don’t have to bring our books to class (THANK GOODNESS. MY BIOLOGY BOOK HAS LEAD-COVERED BRICKS FOR PAPER. Lead’s heavy, right?). A majority of the people on my floor are all the fraternity/sorority type. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but anyone who knows me can tell you that’s not really how I work. No, but seriously. I would never be allowed in a sorority nor would I want to join one. I can’t imagine paying the $35 fee just to rush since I died a little on the inside dropping $15 on a flash drive today. I think I’ve talked to all 38 people in my nursing class and I’ve already gotten to know two of them really well. I have plenty of random friends all over the place here, so I’m not too deprived in the social department here, which is good. Quite the transition from homeschool…

skipping stones by the lake

I just wanted to check in with all of you and let you know that college is going well.

bacon?

And apparently there are machines in the bathrooms here that give you the option to place bacon in your hands or directly onto your face.

10 thoughts on “My name is Picco, and I am a survivor of my first week of college

  1. Ahh, Picco I’m so proud of you!! Congrats on surviving your first week of college. It sounds both amazing and…interesting? haha I hope all goes well for you this semester! And actually, I was just thinking “I really hope [Picco] writes a new blog post about her college experience, because I really want to know” and BAM here it is! I’m telling you we are definitely telepathically connected. ;) Have a fantabulous week!

    -Tia

  2. I survived my first week of college too! (I left for college a day after you did)

    They put me on the sixth floor of the dorm. ;) But they have elevators so if I have the patience to wait for the elevator, I can be lazy. Except it doesn’t work on the sixth floor so I have to get out at the fifth floor and climb up stairs anyway. But it’s fewer stairs!

    Also, I think perhaps the second option on the machine is for people who don’t want to eat the bacon but still want to smell it.

Care to comment?

