So, I stole the chemistry test answer key. But don’t judge me. Only God can judge me.

I’ve been trying to blog for a while, but, ha, that obviously hasn’t happened. Here are some snippets of posts that I’ve written but haven’t published:

One of the perks of going to a somewhat competitive college is that a majority of the people here are very smart. I definitely have encountered some people who still don’t know the difference between there, their, and they’re, but all of my pre-med friends intimidate me. Because everyone’s relatively educated it’s possible to have deep conversations with most of them. Some of the most profound ones I’ve had have been at midnight or later and all involve drunk people. I don’t drink which makes it that much funnier because I remember the whole thing the next day and they generally don’t. Some topics that have been covered are whether or not euthanasia is ethical, the in-depth rules of chess (and then the drunk guy proceeded to beat the sober guy at chess multiple times) and why Batman is able to save Gotham all by himself.

Since getting to college I’ve become much more laid-back. Not that I was ever high strung before, but now I really don’t get upset easily. Actually it’s gotten so bad (good?) that five people (two yesterday) now have asked me if I wanted to smoke pot with them. I informed them that I don’t do drugs. They all seemed shocked and said that I have the calm, easygoing personality of a stoner and that I’m easy to talk to. Apparently that’s a compliment?

I took a chemistry test a few weeks ago. The professor is probably the most insane man I’ve ever encountered and we watched a baseball game on the projector during one class. He also has a bit of a temper. He went over some people’s test with them in lab and mine was the last he went over before class ended. He handed me my test (or what I thought was my test) and I left. We had a chem lecture later that day and he flipped out at the beginning telling us that someone stole the answer key and they needed to return it right away so he could finish grading the tests. Why someone would want to steal the answer key to a chem 100 class is beyond me, but he was in a bad mood for the rest of lecture. A few days later he sent out a long, threatening email about how whoever stole it needs to give it back immediately. We got the same speech again in the chemistry lab later that week. Halfway through his rant I had this strong inclination to look in my lab folder. Guess who had accidentally taken the answer key instead of their test? Yeah, that would be me. Interrupting his speech and handing over the answer key in front of 30-40 people who all applauded me was probably the most awkward moment I’ve had since getting here.

This week has been pretty stressful, but fun. I had a biology test yesterday and gave a 15 minute presentation in nursing that multiple people said they really enjoyed. And some girl the other day said, “I don’t know how to say this without sounding awkward, but you’re really awesome.” Hey, I’ll take that. In life milestone news, I got in my first real fist fight last night! I was debating with my friend RJ about who knows what and he randomly went “DO YOU WANT TO FIGHT?” I’ve never actually fought with a 19 year old guy who works out multiple times a week and only drinks protein shakes. I don’t know why I thought that I would win… In biology lab today we got to spit into cuvettes to sample our cheek cells and somehow got ten extra credit points for it. So yeah, that’s pretty much what’s been going on. And now if you’ll excuse me, I’m currently lying on my friend’s floor about to watch She’s the Man and possibly fall asleep. I party hard. But for real, the amount of sleep that every gets here is laughable. We have competitions to see who can sleep the most at night and there is definitely a moment of silence in respect for you if you say that you got more than 9 hours.

One thought on “So, I stole the chemistry test answer key. But don’t judge me. Only God can judge me.

  1. Ha ha at the stoner thing. ;)

    And that’s so awkward for you, having to bring up the answer key! I definitely feel for you!

    By the way, I’m glad that the title of this post didn’t mean what it sounded like it meant because you got me nervous there. :D

Care to comment?

