Goodbye, summer job. Hello, sophomore year.

The nightmares I had last semester were of me hitting this guy in my health class in the face with a dodge ball. Repeatedly. I think I talked to that kid once and that was only when I said out loud to myself that I was the least athletic person on the planet and he heard me and agreed. So then I friended him on Facebook, because, you know, that’s the logical thing to do. The nightmares I had over the summer were of accidentally putting a high chair at the end of a 6-top, because we weren’t allowed to since they get in the way of the food runners. Laugh all you want, but I’ve woken up in the middle of the night after dreaming about a server yelling at me for putting people at table that was too small for them or that I double sat them. I think that last sentence is proof I need to get out more.

I worked as a host at a restaurant over the summer. It was my first “real” job and I’ve never hated and loved the general public more in my entire life. I loved the days when I got to talk to people while we were on a wait or give food recommendations if I was taking their to-go order over the phone. Unfortunately, there weren’t many days like that. Did you know that some adults don’t know about the concept of tax? Some woman threatened me about lying to her about the price of an appetizer and declared she wouldn’t pay for her takeout order because instead of it being $5 like it was on the menu, the total ended up being $5.51. Also, sometimes bosses can be worse than the customers. That’s never fun, because to customers I can say “Ma’am, we’re currently on a wait and if you don’t like the table I gave you, you’ll have to be put back on the list until another table opens up.” but to managers I can’t say “Hey, you’re kind treating me like total crud right now so stop it.” without worrying about losing my job. I learned a lot this summer, got over my fear of talking on the phone since it inevitably rang at least once every ten minutes, and was able to talk to a lot of great (and not so great) people. As much as I enjoyed the job, it’s nice to be back at school.

I came back a few days early so I could spend time with girls who moved off campus before classes start this week. Almost all of them are in sororities, and none of them are allowed to talk to non-sorority girls because they might somehow persuade us to join their sorority (?) and they’ll get in trouble. They can take one look at my bank account and see I can’t afford it. Also, I’m about as un-sorority-girl as it gets. So I can’t see most of the people I came up a week early to be with. Luckily my roommate isn’t affiliated so she and I have gotten to spend a lot of time together. Also, another reason why I came back early was to enjoy freshmen move in day. Was I that hopelessly confused last year? Did I really look that nerdy carrying around my folder with all of my freshmen week info in it? Did I just go to Walmart and accidentally buy air freshener refills instead of actual air freshener? The answer is yes to all of those. We currently have a Glades plug-in refill in our air conditioning vent in hopes that we can somehow get the room to smell like Hawaiian breeze. Basically my life since I came back on Friday has consisted of organizing our room, being the sober, responsible one at a party with two of my friends on Saturday night (I saved both of them from being hit by a car and they don’t even remember…), making a chocolate cake with the only utensils being a 9×13 pan, a fork, and a tablespoon, and being asked “So,what’s your major? Are you a freshman?” by everyone here. Also, my wonderful roommate who doubles as one of my best friends has woken me up every morning with some random request. Sunday morning it was let’s make a chocolate cake! and this morning it was let’s get some fish! So I guess I’ll be spending my hard-earned money on some fish. Maybe I’ll be able to keep this one alive for more than 12 days like the last one. Updates to follow.

3 thoughts on “Goodbye, summer job. Hello, sophomore year.

  1. Welcome to the real world. Sorry you didn’t have much time for fun this summer. I wish we could have all (Mom, Olivia, you, and me) had lunch sometime this summer, but it passed so quickly. Hope you have some fun this year, even though there’s only the WalMart. Have you read “Steve Harvey” yet?

Care to comment?

