Oh, you aren’t seeing Batman tonight either? Let’s drown our sorrows in buffalo cheese dip together.

If I had a list of things I’d avoid in a dark alley, at the top of the list would be rabid dogs, creepy dudes, and people who actually enjoy boiled chicken.

This is my attempt at making boiled chicken look appetizing. I took about 20 pictures of it, and this was the only one that didn’t make me want to upchuck. After you boil it, not only do you end up with chicken whiter than…ummm…something white? but the water you boil it in has fat and chicken flakes floating in it. And if you don’t know what chicken flakes are, go boil some chicken. I can’t describe it, but they’re disgusting.

A word of warning: this dip is addicting. It’s just the right amount of party food+comfort food. So, if you’re beyond sad that you can’t go see Dark Knight Rises tonight at the midnight premiere, you’ll eat a lot of it. Which is exactly what I’m doing. If only I didn’t have that writing and logic class thing at 9am tomorrow.  As much as I’m learning from it (we worked on syllogisms for 2 hours today. God is good. Poptarts are good. Therefore, God is poptarts. Ok, we didn’t do that one…), it’s totally ruining my life. Every day I come home exhausted from so much thinking, AND it makes me not able to see my beloved Batman movie. Batman>learning. But you didn’t hear that from me.

Whoever decided to have the premiere of Dark Knight Rises be on one of the few days of the summer I have to wake up early is obviously the same person who decided to let babies grow up, put so many calories in moose tracks ice cream, and thought it would be a good idea for all clothes in the 90’s to be made out of denim. That person has serious issues.

So anyway, for all of you going tonight, have fun. Meanwhile, I’m going to pretend I’m having just as much fun as you are by having a Chris Nolan/superhero marathon. “Because Toby McGuire is just as awesome as Christian Bale,” said no one ever.

Buffalo Chicken Dip

From How Sweet It Is

2-8 0z blocks of cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup of blue cheese dressing
1/2 cup of ranch dressing
1 cup of buffalo wing sauce. We use Sweet Baby Ray’s since it’s gluten free, but you can use whatever sauce your little heart desires.
4 skinless, boneless chicken thighs
2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 375.

To boil the chicken, wash the defrosted thighs and place in a sauce pan. Fill the pan with enough water to cover the chicken by several inches. Set your stovetop burner to high and maintain a rapid boil while the chicken cooks for 20 minutes. Set the chicken aside until cool, then shred with a fork.

For the sauce, in a large bowl combine softened cream cheese, ranch dressing, blue cheese dressing, and buffalo wing sauce. Using a mixer, mix until smooth and creamy, about 3 minutes. Resist the urge to eat all of it right then and there. I mean, you can have a little taste or 5, but save some room for when there’s chicken involved. Fold in shredded chicken and 1 cup of shredded cheese. Pour into a baking dish. Top with remaining 1 cup of shredded cheese.

Bake for 20 minutes, or until dip is warmed through. Now you may eat all of it.

11 thoughts on “Oh, you aren’t seeing Batman tonight either? Let’s drown our sorrows in buffalo cheese dip together.

  1. Another aspect of our twinness – I’m not seeing Batman either. :'( I’ve been counting down the days, but alas, I have to wake up early tomorrow morning as well (though, let’s face it: practically dying from lack of sleep tomorrow would be so worth it to see Batman tonight.)…and lines from the movie theater were already trailing a couple blocks down from the movie theater this *morning*…so I don’t really think I’d have a chance at getting a ticket tonight. Which is sad, because I’ve never seen a midnight movie and I thought Batman would be a fun 1st.

    I’m going to have to try that dip. Is it spicy? Oh and I am so ridiculously impressed by your class. I’m sure you’ll learn a lot from it, and hey, at least it’s only a week long. And, it keeps you from being bored out your mind this summer. :D

    -Tia

    • You need to come over so we can sob into our chicken dip together. That’d be interesting. TIA! I CAN’T BELIEVE I’M ACTUALLY MEETING YOU! Why aren’t we seeing Batman?! *insert hysterical crying* *takes bite of dip* *continues bawling our eyes out* I haven’t seen a midnight movie either. I was going to see Hunger Games at midnight, but that really didn’t happen. Maybe I’ll see Catching Fire at midnight. Wait, hve you read the Hunger Games books…?

      It’s a little spicy. I made it more mild for my family by adding more ranch and less buffalo sauce. Oh thank you, dearest. I’m impressed with it too. I’m sad it’s going to be over tomorrow, but at the same time I think my brain needs a little rest.

      • haha it would be an epic meeting. Actually, the one day that we meet WILL be epic no matter what. I’m totally looking forward to it. :D
        Catching Fire…? I haven’t seen previews for that yet…what’s it about? No, I haven’t read the Hunger Games books, though I’ve heard they’re amazing. I’ve also heard that they have an 8th grade reading level, but you know, nothing’s perfect. Except Jane Eyre. :D
        Ok, so when I make this, I’ll make sure to use more ranch in the ranch/buffalo sauce ratio.
        I’m sure this has been a crazy brain-killing week. In the end, though, you’ll look back and be so proud of yourself for surviving it.

        -Tia

        • Catching Fire is the 2nd hunger games book. Haha, they are 8th grade reading level, but they’re SO good :)

          If you end up making it, lemme know what you think. Personally, I’m a bit obsessed and…uhhh…actually just ate the last of it.

          Brain=fried.

  2. I’m jealous of this dip. For real. It looks amazing! I want. it. in. my. belly.

    Okay, awkward blog comment moment is over now. So am I allowed to send you texts of my “screaming” about how amazing it was/is? Or is that a no-no? Just wondering in advanced….

  3. By “chicken flakes” do you mean those little brown things? They show up in my mother’s chicken soup. Yeah, they’re kind of gross when you think about it, but usually I don’t. I’m too busy enjoying her yummy chicken soup.

    Oh, and she takes some boiled chicken from the soup and uses it to make a really delicious chicken salad! Boiled chicken is chicken in its quite possibly least desirable form, but it’s really good in chicken salad.

  4. Not seeing Batman tonight. Sob. Sob. Sob.
    Also, I don’t know what you did to that poor chicken but when I boil chicken it turns out amazing. So…I guess this means you should start avoiding me.

Care to comment?